Random Thoughts on Why You Should Not Care What Other People Think... and Bill Maher

in #life5 years ago

These are some random thoughts on why you should not care what other people think. Perhaps a lesson as old as time, one that has been told many times, but one we still need to learn.

surprised-1184889_640.png

So… Browsing through the Internet I stumbled upon comments from comic book creators and fans. They said Bill Maher had talked about comic books specifically as childish and something you as an adult should abandon for more “sophisticated” books. Some tweeters were angry and others tried to inform Bill Maher, that comic books have merit and that it is okay to like things others perceive as childish.

Maybe Bill Maher was being rude, but most likely I think he was just being facetious for views. It is a TV talkshow and I imagine he likes to goof around, but I don’t follow him so I guess I don’t really know.

What I have learned as of yet in my life is that the older you get, the more you realize how young most people will always be. Personally, I could not care less what you enjoy watching, reading, playing or doing – I mean, I could care if I find you or what you say interesting of course, but outside of that, why would anyone care. Why would you care? You probably don’t and that’s good.

Having such an immense focus on trying to tell others what is “adult” and what is not, is ridiculous but something that seems to always follow us. Perhaps some of this vitriol comes from the good old: the new generation is worse than mine!

I see people quoting C.S. Lewis a lot in this context. A bit of the quote, that gets spun around: “When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.”

It is so needless that we always want to look down on others for liking things. “Don’t dislike things I like and don’t like things I don’t like” is an internet meme – but it is just as true outside the web. I have been guilty of this myself through my life, sure, but I always try to do better. Nowadays, I really don’t care what other people do. There are so many things we can all be angry about on the daily but take a chill instead and just let people enjoy things. It’s so much less stressful.

Now that we got that out of the way, know that I myself will write about a bunch of nerdy stuff. You guessed it: comic books is one of the things, but also video games and maybe even Magic: the Gathering. But if you are not into that (maybe you will be!), then you can also expect a bit of pocket philosophy or general thoughts on life like this here blog. Hope to see you around!

You can also find this post on whaleshares.io. Currently testing out posting to multiple sites: https://whaleshares.io/life/@rawbinhutt/random-thoughts-on-why-you-should-not-care-what-other-people-think-and-bill-maher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63