Back to the Mega-Grind

in #life6 years ago (edited)

About a year ago, I left what was my second job to just focus on just one, have more free time, enjoy life more, etc. This gave me much free time to spend out with my wife and kids.

I had gotten a raise at the main job, so my income remained mostly the same (maybe 2-3k less yearly). The problem is, while the extra time is there, the extra funds to really make that extra time awesome is mostly absent. Plus, everything that could have gone wrong has in the form of multiple car and appliance repairs. So this takes the fun out of having extra free time.

I also miss the productivity. I hate the added down-times in which I have nothing to do, no extra money to go do something awesome (like go out for lunch or travel somewhere), and the fact that, at my day job, I am the youngest by 15+ years (and these old people are weird!). So, I had to do something about it and, since I left on good terms at my old part time job, the manager was glad to take me back (that was a good feeling in itself). I will soon be getting back into the mega-grind.

My hope is that, while I will be making more money (90% of which will go straight into a Roth IRA buying VTI then VTSAX at Vanguard), I will also appreciate the time off more and relearn how to utilize it better.

It is very likely that I’ll be completely miserable with this decision in just a few months. But, the savings will still be there.

The way I see it is, if you have to work, you might as well really WORK and bring in as much as possible so that it can eventually land you into that coveted state of Financial Independence. I don’t like looking at my kids and considering their future when I know that I’m not giving them 110% effort in my attempts to provide for their immediate and future needs. It sucks to think that I could let them down.

Having less time available to dedicate to them means that I must be more intentional with the time that I do have with them (i.e. put the phone away and turn the TV off!).

The plan is to use this extra income to (1) build up a savings cushion, (2) invest traditionally, and (3) use some of it to put into some kind of future business venture (i.e. those that require startup costs and advertising, real estate, and I’m sure I’ll come up with many more ideas).

And, of course, I will be buying more bitcoin! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58