Buying

in #life5 years ago

I buy clothes for the trips I never take.
I buy clothes for the dates I never go to.
I buy clothes for the days that never come.

I buy clothes for an imaginary life I never had, have, or will have.

No wonder my enjoyment is more from "having bought" than actually "owning". It's deranged and unhealthy. I have things bought last years that are still in the boxes. I have things I bought that I paid too much for and never worn. I have things that I wore once, don't like anymore but still take space.

I sometimes buy things just to return them. How do they fit anyway beyond my imagination?

Lately, I realized I should just gift them. It's a burden on my mind to have them, wash them, worry about ruining them or the moths eating ( happened ). Nah. Just gift them. Someone needs a nice sweater out there. Someone can appreciate a nice t-shirt.


Ultimately, this is what it's about. Appreciation, gratitude, the ability to be happy that a t-shirt is nice and makes you feel good about yourself. A compliment.

I know on a level.
I don't on other.
The struggle is real.

How's your 2019?

Sort:  

You and me both. But I have promised to myself that I’m just gonna wear the amazing clothes even if I don’t have a suitable event for it. Overdressed is always on style.

Haha. I guess in a way there's a sadness associated with this under-living. Though I lately wonder if that's what this is in fact and not..you know..unreasonable expectations vis social media and some shit. Truth is we are very privileged just by being in Europe.
What I'm doing this year is just to buy 10 really awesome items and try to have 0 regrets!

Nooo, that can't be it. Our lives are obviously great and exciting!

When you move onto designer items, you'll only have money to buy one great item and really think of what it is you choose to buy :P

Yes, be thankful for what you have.

Posted using Partiko Android

So why don't you have the life you dress for? Don't they say that's how it works? Dress for the life you want, or something?
Go on a trip :)

Yes, the old trick: reverse - engineering the life you want.
Weirdly, the trick doesn't work!
Where?

Now, I don't know how that trick is supposed to work, but I do believe you can build the life you want. :)
Anywhere. Somewhere sunny :D

I have read about folks who do this. I believe you like shopping.
I do not like to shop for things like clothes, which can make things burdensome when I have too.

Return them if you bought them and get your money back.

I don't love shopping, but I doi love shopping for nice clothes and talking about them and seeing how they feel :D

I don't love shopping, but I doi love shopping..

I was referring to your post about clothes. I understand. My husband loves to buy tools. Omg

Tools buying seems amazing. Too bad I suck at this.

We all have something ..

Sell them further and buy Steem instead ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97