The old is new

in #life6 years ago

I like the idea that everything can be exciting again if you make a slight mental shift.
You know that feeling of going to a new place, a new town or even doing something new?
I remember when I was in Prague for the first time. I have just taken the subway from one side of the river. The metro entries in Prague are incredibly abrupt and deep. You really feel like you are going underground and it's a bit spooky.
That's how I connected with the real feeling of being somewhere else.
Anyway, I got off from the metro and took the elevator up. I had no clue what the view will be upon exiting, how would it sounds or the smells. I going up on that infinite elevator ( really incredibly long ) excited about all this new. What awaits?!

We lose this excitment in our own cities but does this make any sense?
Sure, familiarity breads boredom and we get used to even the most amazing sights and buildings but why settle for this? Why not feel the excitement in our own cities as well?

I have a friend over vising me these days and I am experimenting with all this. His observations and enthusiasm at seeing things I usually see or do daily bring a new appreciation for what I have the chance to do just by virtue of living here. Sure, we dream of faraway places and iconic building and seeing this or that but it makes sense to me that appreciating what's in front is a very important skill and even, a very winning strategy. After all, you spend most of the time here. Why waste it by not appreciating?

It is difficult, of course, as we get used to whatever we have really fast ( this is actually a bias! ) but just by making a mindful effort we can squeeze more of our day to day boring life.

I think? :)

Sort:  

Have fun you two :)

Here in America we call it a "staycation".

I had to work in Modesto, Ca, a town that all the residents hate, they all aspire to move to the Bay Area, my wife would come visit me and we would have the best time exploring the area. we went to a wine tasting at a place that makes boxed wine! Modesto has the best tacos and great BBQ.

I lived in 10 different countries during the last 8 years and I will continue living abroad as expat and moving around. Everything is exciting yes. Continuously.
I am so addicted to it that I don't think I can have a different lifestyle. I don't think I can go back to the province and live the usual, when I am experiencing the unusual is so much more fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89