You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's been shaking at our urban homestead?

in #life5 years ago

Hey Jill,

I don't know that anyone will ever get decentralized internet access but you can do private browsing. There are free browsers like ultrasurf and Tor that block any type of nosy nancys that you might like...

Sort:  

Hey Dan!

A gurl can dream right? Dream i must it seems!! Haha! I wonder how we can have real freedom and decentralized applications with internet access being so monopolized?! I can't help but think -- If an authority could just stop internet access what good are tokens? Perhaps we could use NFC transfers without internet but i think it would be difficult to get around it. The idea of blockchain seems very promising and gives me a lot of hope. But, the sneeky monopoly of internet access as a foundation rubs me the wrong way. I sure hope we can find a way to unmonopolize it! Power to the geeks and coders out there maybe even good inventors. It's not that i want to hide. It's the issues i have with authority not being of a good nature & their nefarious ways that gets me going!! Thanks for sharing those two browsers. I have never heard if them. I tend to use Chrome as it seems websites work the best (in general) with it. How's Real Estate and life in Connecticut for you these days?

Hey Jill,
Life's been pretty cold lately lol! But I'm sure not as cold as your neck of the woods.
Regarding the blockchain and cryptos, I understand where you're coming from but it might be good to stay a bit cynical here. The cryptos are going down for a reason. How do you establish a value on a crypto? There are lots of theories but you have to remember that most of them haven't been around for more than a year and are used almost exclusively for speculation. Some say crypto is a commodity but commodities can't really go to zero where as a crypto can easily go to zero. Take a gold mine for instance, the mine can be depleted of its gold but the gold itself will always hold some sort of value. I think that the block chain is a good means of keeping account of things but cryptos are more of a trending concept right now. There are some cryptos backed by physical goods, I would think that they might be the way to go?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89