10 Moments All Writers Have Gone Through

in #life6 years ago

I've done it! I've all but finished going through the editing process for my first book as I wait for some folks to send me a few things back. As soon as that is all through I'll be ready to upload and unleash it on the world! This has been an amazing journey and I can't wait to start the press portion of the process, which for me has always been more fun because then you get to go out and promote your product to the world.

Still, like all things worth doing in life, this took a Hell of a lot of hard work, and to say I wanted to quit a few times is an understatement. I had a love-hate relationship with my book but now seeing it in its beautiful and mature state, I feel like a parent must feel. Before I finally send off my adult of a book into the world and inspire you to finally pull up your laptop and start drafting the next best seller, here are some of the moments I remember having hit on occasion that you might encounter at some point.

10. You'll get really good at cocktails

Alcohol is the enemy of many, but not to you my dear friend. Your go-to whiskey and Coke will grow stale, and whiskey and Dr. Pepper doesn't tip the scales. Take a day to pull up some cocktail recipes, call them "idea fuel" and you'll be well on your way. I discovered I make a mean whiskey sour, and my oh my do I love those now.

9. Your most comfortable clothes will be your new uniform

I'm pretty sure I wore the same gym shorts and hoodie for 9 days straight at one point. I was comfortable and I was on a roll writing, didn't want to jinx anything.

8. Shaving...forgot...to shave...

Late night writing is a gamble. Plus side is you're distraction free, downside is Friday turns into Saturday and you might not notice until someone is saying "its Monday you need to be at work."

7. Your three hours of dedicated writing time was really two and a half hours of YouTube

Some days you're on fire, others you're watching YouTube for "inspiration" watching videos you know have nothing to do with what you are writing.

6. DON'T READ THAT BOOK

Odds are you will find a book at the store that is very similar to yours, DON'T READ THAT BOOK. You will develop unfair standards for yourself and it will hinder your creative process.

5. Write drunk at least a few times

I credit this for the source of my best ideas. Hemingway said it best, "write drunk, edit sober."

4. Who would play this character in a movie?

I like to think Jeremy Renner could be me.

3. Burn this thing to Hell!

Why oh why did you want to write a book in the first place?

2. Why don't you write yourself dammit!

Books literally don't write themselves no matter how loud you scream.

1. I'd interview me, I'd totally interview me

Just saying, its a good book...

This is a Steemit exclusive blog, but don't forget to check out my website at www.rwmartinez.com

Check out Remso on Gab, Minds, Facebook, or Twitter. Don't forget to go see more at his website today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68