Five Tips For Self-Publishing Your First Book

in #life6 years ago

I finally submitted my files for review with Amazon CreateSpace, and I couldn't be more excited to self-publish my first book Stay Away From The Libertarians! It has been a year long journey and I have learned so much about myself, my ability to write, and the ins and outs of getting ready to launch a self-published book. So what are some of the things I'm glad I did in order to avoid most self-publishing sins?

1. Pay for Multiple Editors

People won't forget your mistakes, take my word on it. You will always miss something, not consider a mistake, or fall too much in love with your own work. Take the time to pay a professional line editor or copy editor to look through your book and help you make it the best book possible. Two sets of eyes are better than two, I contracted three editors and each found something the others didn't.

2. You Need a Professional Cover Artist

People do in fact judge a book by its cover, and most consumers have the idea that a self-published book just looks cheap, because sadly, most do. If your book screams "self-published" people will run away. Go contract a professional artist.

3. Write the Book You Want to Write, Not the Book You Think People Want to Read

I can't emphasis this enough, if you don't write the book you enjoy writing, you will never finish it.

4. If You Don't Market Your Book, You Have a Diary

Author Mike Cernovich said it best, "if you don't market your book, you have a diary." Learn how to use the internet to sell your book for you.

5. A Publicist Goes a Long Way

Most self-published authors don't have the network of people and resources needed to get your book in front of the consumer audience you are looking for, so a way to ensure you develop your brand as an author, having a publicist take care of you is a smart way to go.


Join our growing community of liberty minded Steemians on Facebook

Want to opt out of the Federal monster's fake money? Set up your Coinbase account here 

This is a Steemit exclusive blog, but don't forget to check out my website at www.rwmartinez.com

Check out Remso on Gab, Minds, Facebook, or Twitter

Sort:  

I have not self published anything, so this is good advice. Your a hard working guy Remso! Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68