You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing up

in #life5 years ago

Wow now that is an interesting story.

I've got images of Cool Hand Luke in my head!

Different era, I think it'd be the officers getting axed for that sort of thing now.

I did my growing up homeless - totally different end of the spectrum, but probably the same result - you learn to look out for yourself and fend for yourself!

Many of today's youth are apparently very comfortable staying at home with their parents and have little desire to ever grow up, hopefully yr son isn't one of them!

How was the rest of yr time in the army? Surely the training was just the low point.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

No as we were treated badly by the permanent force members. We were their skivvies. Training wasn't so bad as when you are super fit there is nothing that can get you down. In those days I could just run all day. Most of the time it was interesting and trying to lie your way out of trouble. I became a very good liar quite quickly and could read people and knew when to tell the truth and when not too.

You grew up homeless, in your teens I presume, but there you are doing fine. You must have a brain of steel to have been able to effectively raise yourself.

It was only for a few months while I was 18. Then I discovered the benefits system!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78