16 Hours Without Power

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A freak wind storm blew through town yesterday and has left me without power for 16 hours. This is the second or third weather related power outage.

I have a lot of hobbies and use a fair bit of power - I offset my carbon footprint with a 5kw solar system on my roof.

My solar array is setup as a "grid tie" system. This means that I feed all the power my panels produce into the meter. Since solar isnt a stable power source - sometimes the utility takes the excess power I produce and give me credits to use when my solar isnt enough (or at night).

The solar array was never meant to be a zombie apocalypse system - it was to simply offset my costs and "do my part". I also foresee an electric vehicle in my future so the idea of driving for free was appealing. The problem with the grid tie system is that when the grid goes down - you cant switch over to the solar panels (legally). My panels don't take me off the grid - they simply offset grid related costs (and perhaps slow climate change by a nanosecond).

I used to have a gas generator with a bypass panel - but i was living in a rural property. Living in a city - you expect services to be returned in a timely matter. My ares is old and established - which means there are underground wires within the subdivision - but there are still utility pole connections outside the subdivision. I have a feeling that they aren't going to bury those wires until they have a good reason - so I need to take matters into my own hands.

The cheapest solution is to get a 5000w gas or diesel generator and run an extension cord into my kitchen. This is not ideal - but gas or diesel can be siphoned from my neighbours car if things go zombie apocalypse.

Another solution is to permanently install a Genrec Natural Gas powered generator. Its permanently wired into your panel - does weekly self tests - and sends notifications to your phone on all events. Most of these units have an LP adaptor - so if the gas system was disrupted as well (in a zombie apocalypse) propane could be used. That means hopping a lot of fences to steal propane tanks (which probably wouldn't be a bad idea anyway).

The only other solution I am considering is the Tesla battery. This would be the most expensive option available. The upside to the battery is the power would be mine - its already generated and stored. Its perfect for residential neighbourhoods and could last me anywhere from a day to 7 days. The downsides are it doesn't come with an inverter, the cost is high, and unlike a generator once the battery is drained its drained. If a long outage happened in the winter when solar generation is low - this would not be a very good solution.

I think natural gas is probably the way to go - its a seamless switch over so my computer wouldn't be affected - but its expensive and for the most part tied to the gas system (propane is still a last ditch option).

Its strange to have these problems in modern cities - but there will always be outages. Natural Gas outages are extremely rare - to have them both happen at the same time is highly unlikely. This is the route a lot of daytraders and other people who need uninterrupted power go.

The technology exists to not have to live without worrying about power outages - extreme weather has lead me to seriously look into backup systems. Something tells me that the weather situation in my area is only going to get worse.

Ryan Geddes is a writer and entreprenuer located in Toronto Canada. When he's not writing, hes helping with House&Canvas Furniture Paint.

Sort:  

I like how you mention having to steal from your neighbors in the case of a zombie apocalypse but with all that lovely equipment you own it seems like the neighbors might just band together to come and steal your stuff when the shit hits the fan.

Maybe you should look into a few well placed spiked pits around your property as long as your preparing ;)

A future post idea - how to build a panic room..

I posted a lot in this post and learned a lot, so much so thank you so much

Why does anyone consider a Tesla battery?
It is 1970s junk with a fancy cover.

Get yourself some Outback® inverters, and some iron-nickel batteries. Viola, a much better, cheaper and more resilient system then what Tesla is offering.

If you wanted to go further, now that you would have a 24 volt battery system is to convert the lighting in your house to DC LED lighting. Running it straight off the batteries eliminates the loss from the inverter converting, AND, it saves energy by not sitting idle.

The Ouback® inverter can be set to line-tie mode, and/or to battery charging mode, and/or to off grid mode.

I feel that a line-tie only inverter is just a waste of money, because for a few hundred more, you can have power in cases of emergencies.

I only mentioned it because it is an option people ask me about (people think I know everything about Tesla because I have solar). Its a slick looking solution -but a tad overpriced ;)

I'm more interested in a generator at this point - whether its a portable or a fixed natural gas one i'm not sure. I used to have coral and saltwater fish - I had a pretty good battery system for it - but it seems when the power does go out its out for a relatively long time.

The Genrac ng/lp generators are awesome - maybe a little overkill - but awesome. I would "enjoy" it so I am leaning in this direction.. Its probably overkill.. but it would save me from a fridge full of food I need to throw out! A portable 5kw might work as well (for a fraction of the cost) - but its not as elegant.

Nothing like an electrical project to keep the mind busy.

Tesla Model 3 Battery Cell Has World’s Highest Energy Density

The Tesla Model 3 is a car. They claim their car battery has the highest energy density among other electric vehicles. The world highest energy density exists in materials like Uranium and Plutunium not a Tesla-Panasonic Lithium Ion.

You got a 8.65% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @rgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

buildawhale payout in the amount of $76 STU, $159 USD.
appreciator payout in the amount of $72 STU, $151 USD.
postpromoter payout in the amount of $66 STU, $138 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $214 STU, $448 USD before curation, with approx. $54 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @rgeddes and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Very interesting. I don't have too much knowlege about the solar systems and how they interact with other system, like plugging into the grid. I probably only have enough to allow me to ask some silly and stooopid questions...so here goes.

It sounds like you aren't too happy with your hook-up to the grid. Are you only doing it for the footprint reduction, or does it signifigantly help set off the purchase price of your system? If you had it to do over, would you again hook up to the grid? Why or why not?

Also, you mention the Tesla battery and say "once the battery is drained its drained". I'm not sure what you mean by that. There has to be a way to regenerate the battery, no?

Also, the Tesla solar roof tiles I've heard so much about. You didn't mention those. Is there a reason why?

Thanks for your patience and time. If you get a chance to answer these questions, I would definitely appreciate your opinion...you seem to have a good understanding and excellent experience on the subject. Plus, since you aren't trying to sell anybody or anything, I trust you will be honest. Thanks again!

The grid tie makes sense in my situation since I am in the city - the power rarely goes down. It was definately not worth the money (at this point) - it was 100% for the purpose of reducing my foot print. My solar system is 5kw - so in PEAK sun hours I might product 5kw - but usually its much less. I produce a few thousand KW a year which amounts to a few months savings.

Tesla battery regenerates - but you need to make the power in order to charge it. For me to charge a big tesla battery with my solar array it would take days (in the summer). Its a better solution for those who live off grid and experience frequent short term power loss.

Solar technology is constantly changing and becoming inexpensive. Companies other than Tesla innovate in the industry as well - I have no doubt in the future there will be technology that far surpasses even what the Tesla tiles promise.

Solar for most people is still a "luxury" - one of those things you do because you believe in it not because its going to save you a buck. In places like mexico however - one or two panels make a huge difference - they are a necessity rather than a luxury!

Thanks for your opinion. Don't know many people who have these systems, and you know if you talk to a salesman or the power company, they're going to tout the company line, so...

liked reading the different options. Not to sermonize or anything but we are used to not having power many times. as long as the lights work (via a battery backed UPS), we can do everything else as we have manual alternatives like gas stoves, solar water heaters, solar charging stations, winch pumps, etc. of course manual labor like washing clothes or dishes by hand cannot be avoided.

I guess there are benefits to being dependent as well as indifferent to electrical power!

I lived on a farm at one point - we lost power all the time. Its different when you are prepared for it - when you don't expect power loss and you loose all the food in your fridge - it sucks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87