Finding My Place in the World

in #life4 years ago (edited)

Every day I feel more settled in Sidi Bouzid, more at home in the community and happy with the choice I made to come here. In fact, so much synchronicity is happening right now that I’m comfortable with the idea that each step I took to get here was by design, courtesy of the universe.

The very day of my arrival, as @michelios and I were unlocking the gate in front of our bungalow, a brown dog approached us in the street and gave us an official greeting. If you’ve followed other blog posts I’ve made recently, you know that this dog--who we've learned is called “Hinda” by residents of the community--followed us home the next night and made it clear we had been adopted into her rather large extended family.

Being the animal welfare advocate I am, I recognized right away that Hinda didn’t need to be saved from her circumstances. She was the quintessential happy beach bum dog, no rescue required. However, she was in desperate need of essential vetting that the community hadn’t been able to provide for her. At the very least she needed vaccines against rabies and other core diseases like parvo and distemper. Beyond that, she needed deworming and sterilization. Michel and I called on my former rescue contacts for help in providing this, then we made contact with a local veterinarian and started the process.



This led to my discovery of ERHAM Association, a group working to provide TNR for feral cats in the Azemmour region of Morocco. I contacted Anne Heslop, organizer of this group, and she and I set a meeting during her return to Morocco next week. I’m sure I’ll have much to post on that topic, so stay tuned.

Today, Hinda introduced us to three of her extended family members here in Sidi Bouzid. The love that passes between her and these people is incredible.



Ironically, last night I learned that my old county of residence in Virginia has stooped to a new low regarding the welfare of its feral cats, which number in the thousands. Richlands, VA and Bluefield, VA have both passed “nuisance” ordinances making it illegal to feed or maintain these colonies. There’s language in the ordinance to allow for official animal welfare agencies to work with this population of cats, but not without burdensome data collection and reporting requirements that amount to little more than red tape. Fines for an ordinary citizen who feeds these cats, or “encourages the existence of a public nuisance” are set at $50 per offense, and each day of “offense” can bear a separate $50 fine. While villages in North Africa ascend and evolve, Tazewell County, Virginia keeps circling the drain. I am very, very glad I no longer live there to suffer the consequences of such unconscionable decisions by community leadership.

Find me on the Web:
http://www.authordianeryan.com/
https://www.facebook.com/rhonda.kay.79
https://www.facebook.com/authordianeryan/
https://www.steemhousepublishing.com/

Sort:  

Hello @rhondak, awesome post. Instead of just using a morocco tag
you can just subscribe to our community at :

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-138855

Your subscription is greatly appreciated. See you soon.

@hdmed, I certainly will subscribe to the community. Michel and I both are very interested in networking with other people here in Morocco, Steemians and otherwise!

Thank you very much @rhondak. This will help me to bromote Steem in our community again.

Sounds like you are settling in there in Morocco. Are you planning on a long term stay there?

Pennsif, you know...I'm not sure right now. I loved Eastbourne and figured that's where I'd settle if I decided to live outside the U.S. But then I came here and discovered volunteer work I can do even with my current health issues--these animals don't need a shelter or rescue. They just need public caretakers and veterinary care. Within a week, without even looking for him, I'd found the veterinarian who's doing the TNR spays and established a very good rapport. He then put me in touch with Anne Heslop, and from there things are taking on a life of their own. So I don't know. At the very least, I will be returning on a very frequent basis. Sometimes you just can't fight fate.

Looking forward to hearing more about your life in Morocco.

I am sure the weather there is much better than it is in the UK at present.

Pennsif, I'm not sure what the weather is doing there in England but I can only imagine. What I can tell you is that it's as close to perfect here on the Atlantic coast of North Africa as a human could possibly hope for.

Stormy, stormy here in the UK at the moment. Plenty of wind and plenty of water where we are.

Sounds rather more pleasant over your way.

That news is devastating for VA strays. I hate to see feral cats. What a blessing you are to that beautiful dog, though.

It is devastating and absolutely shameful for that community. With only a minimal amount of human intervention, feral cats can do quite well for themselves in the wild. Dogs, not so much. But cats adapt and can lead very happy, fulfilling lives as ferals. @shadowpub was telling me about a feral cat colony near the Parliament building in Ottawa the last time she visited. They were thriving. She also made the remark that she didn't know if that colony still existed there, and they very possibly do not. The whole point of TNR (Trap, Neuter, Release) is for the sterilized population to diminish naturally and humanely, so that well may be the case for those Ottawa kitties.

Congratulations @rhondak! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

But the end of all things has drawn near. Therefore be sober-minded and be sober unto prayers.(1 Peter 4:7)

Question from the Bible, Is there such a thing as untimely death in the Bible?

Watch the Video below to know the Answer...
(Sorry for sending this comment. We are not looking for our self profit, our intentions is to preach the words of God in any means possible.)


Comment what you understand of our Youtube Video to receive our full votes. We have 30,000 #SteemPower. It's our little way to Thank you, our beloved friend.
Check our Discord Chat
Join our Official Community: https://steemit.com/created/hive-182074

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97