How bad do you want it? Making the right choices for healthier living NOW instead of a new years resolution.

in #life6 years ago

New Year


The new year is coming ... time to see if there are still things that I would like to realize in 2018. Besides the fact that I am very happy with the life I have, there is one thing I would like to change.

Eat healthy and exercise


Why is this not standard in my personality? I think it would be so incredibly nice if healthy eating and loving exercising would be just as easy for me as eating a chocolate bar or drinking away 3 wines. I mean ... once I'm in the flow of healthy eating and exercise, that's fine ... but then there comes the time that I think differently and then I'll go completely in the opposite direction.

This is what goes wrong


Then that voice comes that says; ahhh you can eat 1 plait of fries ... or a bar of chocolate ... or you can really miss a workout, that really does not matter. And then the voice goes on, missing a workout does not matter, you have to give yourself peace of mind girl and let's be honest, the most important thing is that you are healthy and that you feel good. Just enjoy a day!
And ...... there you go!!! It doesn't stop one time as a cheat evening...It's taking over...there goes the routine, the good habits ... and before I know it I eat everything I want and I'm back on the couch. You know you're in deep shit when you finally get a mail from your gym that they miss you....

I did it before


I started eating healthy and exercising two years ago. Feeling good after a workout and getting stronger every week.I did not give up ... didn't listen to my 'bad voice' and after 4 months I had the body what I wanted. (ok, it could be better but that's how a womans mind work).
I didn't use a scale, I don't believe in that. I believe in losing weight and feel it because your jeans falls off and see it in the mirror.
At that time when I looked in the mirror I was happy with what I saw and I wondered why I had never done this before. From the age of 18 I have been on and off of a diet but for the first time I had managed to lose so much weight and be satisfied. Satisfied is perhaps a reduced word ... it sounds crazy but I was really in love with myself and I swore then that I would never let it go that far again. This was who I wanted to be...who I was in my head. Not only the body, but also the feeling of being energetic, strong and proud of myself.

Quit smoking


Then I quit smoking..... Yeah, I think you know what happened next. I also knew what was going to happened if I quit smoking. The fact was that I became so terribly afraid that I would get cancer, it made me want to stop and don't let the weightgaining be an excuse. I didn't quit for myself ... but for the children. My mother and my husband's mother have both died of cancer. Both of us were young when we had to continue without a mother. So I know how it feels ...I know how hard life is without your mother...
The question that kept going over and over in my mind was; How could I ever explain to my boys that I got cancer by smoking? That I got cancer that had come from smoking and that I knew I could get it, but that I continued to smoke? I could never ever do that to them. So that's why I stopped. And why it succeeded, by saying to myself, every time I wanted to smoke, that my boys are more important than those cigarettes.
Downside is that I ate everything to get the feeling away ... and all the kilos that I had dropped off, I gained again.

MY MISSION


It takes a lot of effort to find the switch to lose weight. To really do it instead of a little ... to change your life and change your habits. But I'm ready again. The feeling I had when I had lost the weight is stronger than the voice in my head that tell me it's okay to eat unhealthy and I don't have to go to the gym..
I want this not only to get the body that I want but also for the energy you get when you live healthy.
I'm going to do it ... and I'll start tomorrow! Not January 1 ... but tomorrow! If I want it so badly ... why wait any longer?

Sort:  

That's the mindset 😘 I think what makes me give up easily it's the fact things don't work fast. I always expect to lose a lot of weight straight away and when it doesn't happen I just got frustrated. But like you said we are doing this for our health and we deserve it. So let's kick this unhealthy life ass and start a revolution in our lives. Success!

Yes, i think that is the problem for almost every one who want to loose weight and/or live healthier. Choosing for the short-term and not long-term. I started looking at it a day .. how can I move the most today and eat the healthiest. and then sleep and repeat. We are going to help each other in 2018!💪🏼

The mindset is almost on par @rijkie. I discoverd a pattern with myself....even if I said to myself F#%$^ I am going to start tomorrow that even wasn't enough. I had to change my mindset to why wait till tomorrow. the time is NOW. Oh hey that means today!!! so your time to start is NOW. Good luck on jour journey. We walk the same line and therefore must support each other! Keep going sis!

We can do this!💪🏼☺️

Very good! New Years resolutions should have to wait until new years. And exactly what you say about how you feel, thats where it all boils down to

Feel confident and feel healthy.

I threw out my scale years ago, and when I moved to the Caribbean all of a sudden my big hips were something to be proud of. In Holland the standards on how you 'should' look sometimes take over common sense.

Be how you feel best! And do not forget to enjoy every now and then

When i reached my goal I wasn’t skinny but I was feeling fit and my body was like I wanted it to be. I think thats what counts. We (women) should listen more to ourself and what we see as beautiful and not what the magazines want us to look like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73