You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: But there’s nothing to be anxious about......

in #life5 years ago

You are definitely not the only one. It is so important to share these experiences. I never thought that I would ever have anxiety or a panic attack but that has been my life for the last 4 years . of course the logical part of our brain knows there is nothing to worry about. I find it very frustrating, so we also get this panic about the panic or anxiety about the anxiety because it is such an awful experience. What medication did you end up going on?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I went on citalopram, it took a while for it to take effect but did help. Im only on a small dose now and looking to come off it completely in the near future.
I agree with the anxiety point as well. I got to the point where I was more worried about the possibility of a panic attack than the original cause of my anxiety. Then got depressed when I would come down from the heightened state of worry. Quite a destructive cycle.

I have managed to stay off drugs but I get so close to taking them when I am in the middle of it. Respect that you have done something to manage it.. it is incredibly hard and takes ALL your resources to stay on top of things. Herbs, yoga, walking meditation... you name it Ive tried it. Great to hear citalopram worked for you.

I am so glad you wrote about this.. alot of people dont understand what its like. About a year ago on Steem @naturalmedicine we ran a challenge where we talked about how we managed anxiety and @ecotrain also has raised questions around mental health. The more we talk about it the better xx

RESTEEMING. Thanks @torico for sharing this one.

Posted using Partiko Android

I appreciate your comments. I do meditate and i'm lucky to live in an area where nature is on my doorstep. I also took up Ki Aikido which has been a great benefit. It has lots of focus on relaxation in stressful situations and it has taught me how important breathing is. Sounds simple to just breath but in modern life we often breathe in such a shallow manner. When we can focus on deeper breathing techniques we give our body and mind a chance to deal with stress in a much more efficient way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68512.18
ETH 3825.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66