Your "Buts" will destroy your dreams

in #life5 years ago

Good morning friends!

I wrote about this some time ago and have been thinking about it for the last couple of days. The topic needs a bit more explanation.

A few years ago, it hit me. My use of the word "but" in my language was nothing less that an excuse! Knowing that there are no larger blocks to achieving goals than excuses, I knew I had to make a conscious effort to change that habit. I was quite surprised to find just how often I used the word!

Here are some examples:

I was going to work out, but.... I'm busy, my knees hurt, and so on.

I want to eat healthier, but.... I do't have time to cook, it is too expensive, etc.

You get the picture.

What if we simply replaced the word "but" with the word "and?" Can you feel the difference in how each feels? "But" leaves me feeling guilty and a bit dirty. It's use leads to a dead end! However, the use of "and" in its place feels positive, or at a minimum, neutral. It becomes a statement of fact, a variable in the situation with which to deal!

So, our statements above become:

I was going to work out AND I'm busy. So, I'll get up 30 minutes earlier, I'll drink only one cup of coffee; I'll catch the news on the way to the gym...

I want to eat healthier AND I don't have time to cook. So, I'll pick up fruit and vegetable trays at the market; I'll prepare the weeks meals this weekend, I really don't need that bun on my burger....

See the difference? I'll tell you that it does take some effort to change what has been ingrained in our language for our whole lives. My wife and I have been working on this for several years and still catch our selves "butting" From time to time. It helps to have an accountability partner.

I can tell you that making this little change in our language has made us more productive, healthier and all around happier! Give it a go!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rmglass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75