The Dying Rooms

in #life6 years ago

12728-770x433.jpg

I just had one of my friends and colleagues sit in front of me and say "I'm so tired of thinking about money".
And it's true...this causes a great deal of anxiety in may peoples current state of mind. I, myself, try not to let it concern me too much. After all why put yourself into an early grave over some man-made construct that corrupts the minds of the free in an economic black hole of humanity.

Also I always reflect on a documentary that I watched many years back. It affected me at the time greatly, and when I can, and the situation arises, I say this story to people as a way to hopefully comfort them in this troubling times. It is really a story that is meant to put our lives into a different perspective, and at the end of the day, hopefully make us see how lucky we are. How insignificant the complaints of finance and hardship in our modern world really are. So I share this and hope you will see what is being said, rather than disregarding and believing that you are unfortunate. After all there is someone out there in the world that can tell a better story. And this is one...

Channel Four showed a documentary some twenty years ago (I don't know whether the situation has changed) but at the time, this uncover documentary was factual and real. The footage was taken in a State run orphanage in China. In China it has been made law that couples, or women, are only allowed one child. In Chinese society it was/is deemed more respectable to have a son in the family. If a child is born into a family and it is a girl child, sometimes the family reject the child and toss (literally) the child onto the streets. These babies find there way into the State run orphanages. If in fact they survive.

As the work force in the orphanages have no care to tend to the children, what the documentary showed was that they simply tied the babies/children to wooden chairs. This meant that their arms and legs were bound in a way that they had no movement at all. The children would be fed in this position, they would defecate in this position, and would sleep and spend their waking hours in this position. Due to this, they would develop mental disorders that had them rocking back and forth in the chairs.

They were basically forgotten. Their life expectancy at best would be around 3-5 years old. They would literally die in these orphanages (dying rooms) from neglect. From the lack and care of any form of human touch. They were forgotten. The only reason they suffered such a terrible crime was the fact they were born a girl. Their short and sad life lasted at best 3 years. It was torture and neglect. I really want to find anyone living in this western modern world that has a worse story than this.

For that reason, and when I feel a little need to complain about my own position, I think of this. I watched this documentary and I remember crying, and even now typing this I have goose bumps thinking about it. I have nothing really to complain about. So I try my best not too.

We are more lucky than we think.

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Instagram | Pinterest | LinkedIn | BeHance & Dribbble

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67