Life as an adult - Is it really that cool?

in #life6 years ago

As a kid, I have always thought that being an adult is such a cool thing! Seeing my older siblings going wherever and whenever they want, this was something huge to me! I've always wanted to grow up and become officially an adult. But does it really matter?

Most people talk about their pleasant childhood memories, and the innocent things that they used to do and talk unlike adults which is a different world that everyone agrees about. But for many others, both childhood and adulthood were a nightmare to them because of the problems that they used to face since birth.

Social Problems


In my case, my childhood was pretty much great if we're not including the bullying that I used to face at school because of my personality, low weight and race. The first school that I used to study at until 6th grade was literally hell on earth. Teachers used not to like me even though I was the calmest and I tried hard to get fair grades. As I mentioned before, the students were mean to me for no reason at all! And still no one knows about all of this from my family.

Things started to become better as I got in High School. I started to make more friends, and become more active in the social life. So that's when I realized in my mind: "As I am getting older, everything is becoming better so it will become even better when I become an adult" And I was right.

Financial Problems

My family started to have financial problems in my early teens. This was a big issue to me and I felt myself useless in the family and I liked to work a lot! I started to learn many things such as Web Developing, Editing Photos and many more skills. Due to my young age, no one wanted to hire me. I tried to find something to work on online and did not work as well. The only thing I have done to support my family a little bit was to work as a waiter at a local restaurant near my place of living.

Now that I am officially an adult, I can start to use my skills to earn a living which I always wanted to do!

Conclusion

The past few years were like a university to me. I chose something that I like and learned it. It wasn't waste of time at all. What I would like to share here is, learn whatever you can. Everyday is a new day to learn. Don't waste time on silly things but use it wisely!

Being a child is great! but being an adult is better for me because of the positive things that happened to me while I was growing up!

And, Happy late birthday to me! :P

Sort:  

Congratulations @robnews! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63