Cowardice behind the iron "cyber" gatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I'm normally a lagging indicator of fashion and hip-things out in cyberspace (just ask my daughters) so it's likely that you've already seen this video. I saw it for the first time last week and laughed so hard I almost cried.

Creation provides daily lessons...

... and sometimes humorous examples of the right and the wrong ways to go about our business. At first, I laughed quite a lot at those silly dogs...and then as I contemplated it, I realized this is what a lot of folks do on social media and especially in private conversations where the object of the wrath isn't a party to the immediate conversation and therefore defenseless.

I've seen friends who have known each other almost all their lives on opposite political sides ripping each other apart while hiding behind the safety of the iron "cyber" gate. How many of them would actually have the courage to address someone that same way face to face? I can count those "man-up" people on one hand and have a lot of fingers left over.

As I contemplated further...

...I wisely decided to examine myself before whipping out my keyboard and lambasting those rascals.

Why?

I'm guilty of the same offense!

Although I'd like to think I'm the little dog on the right that runs away last.

I love that video, it will be a constant reminder to me to not say anything or write anything about anyone that I wouldn't say face to face.

Would our world be a better place if we all would follow this very simple principle?

I think so, but what do you think?

Source: https://www.YouTube.com "four dogs barking at a gate"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59