Poem: To My Dad, You'll always be alive in my Soul

in #life5 years ago

To Dad


.
.
.
.
.
.
.

When I was a baby,
I could only say mom, I wish I said dad,
Maybe that would have kept you by my side.
Overwhelming this life is for us,
Yet
I haven't said a goodbye as
You're in my heart and I talk to you in my dreams,
You're my light, I know we have a bond.
Even though you're no longer in this world.

...

I'm getting through, I feel it though,
I feel that you're just gone,
I haven't had a chance to talk at all,
Even before the night you decided to go.

...

Like daughter like father
My moves reflect yours
My character is you
From peace to sensitiveness
To not dealing with nonsense.
Filled with calmness and love.

...

I wish you didn't leave alone,
Then I could just sit with you,
And tell you how I've done.
You could tell me your mind,
I could sit and know,
I've got my dad and mom.
...

I've got my mom,
I'm not alone,
I'll live my life.
But forget you not.

...

Happy birthday Dad,
I'm happy you gave me life,
I'm here, although you're not.
You will always live in my soul.


By RoseLilly

My dad went away from life when I was 2 years old (2000), I wrote this for his birthday 9th of May, he was 28. I miss him and this poem comes from the heart.

@roselilly

Sort:  

Very touching...

I'll resteem from the @newbieresteemday account

From a dad with a daughter, your poem is very touching and beautiful. I'm sorry for your loss, but I think you and your dad are still very close, which is wonderful.

Thanks for sharing something soo personal with us. It was a pleasure reading. Sorry you never got to know your dad!

Posted using Partiko Android

I lovely poem/ode.

Congratulations with his birthday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow @roselilly what a touching piece of writing and I really hope you are able to find peace eventually. Must be tough to grow up not knowing who such an important part of your life is and was

FYI I found your post via this weeks @pifc nominations

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @free-reign.

Congratulations @roselilly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 57. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Congratulations, you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of @newbieresteemday's top posts for the day!

newbieresteemday.png

Beautiful words.
May I suggest that next time, you give credit to where you find your images? It's something that is quite important on this platform to be transparent about our sources.

I found you because @mimismartypants featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97