Long Time No Write, How's Life?

in #life6 years ago

It's been 3 months since the last time I wrote and updated my Steemit account. Life has been busy lately. I left Palawan in March 2018 temporarily as I have to go back home to my province to check on my mom. I really don't want to post personal stuff here but I just want to express my feelings here on Steemit.

When I was in El Nido, I received a text from my sister that my brother hurt her and hit her on the head. I was so furious that there was nothing I can do since I was far.

The reason why I left home and live somewhere else because I could not stand the abusive environment anymore. I am the eldest and my brother is the youngest.

Since my father died, he is getting worse. He is taking advantage that he is the only male member of the family that he can easily scare us and hurt us.

On Facebook, I've been so noisy last week because I want the attention of my cousins and other relatives. Indeed, they noticed my post but in the end, they sided with my brother. They never investigated of what is really happening. Since my brother was with them during my uncle's wake, he could say anything against me and in favor of him.

It was really unfair, I thought my female relatives would understand me. But they told me to stay silent to stay at peace. I was disappointed. They're telling me about their lives when they were younger saying it was just normal, the sibling rivalry. Mine is just more than sibling rivalry. It's domestic abuse.

A male relative posted a comment on a copy-pasted Bible verses about Beautitudes as if I really need spiritual guidance. Telling me that I am just angry the reason why it's hard for me to forgive. I had the history of physically abused back in 2012. I got bruises on my arms.

The reason why it's difficult for women to talk about abuse because other women are telling them to stay silent. This is the problem here in the Philippines because they are ashamed of it for family's sake. Families are ashamed of what the neighbors can talk about.

Just because it's normal for the past generations doesn't mean it is still normal for the new generation. I really fight for what is right and I don't let any older relatives dictate me. I have my own voice and I must be heard.

My brother even sending messages to my friend, feels like he was threatening her. I told my friend not to accept his message. Every time he sends a message to my sister, I can write a perfect answer. My brother gets irritated telling me I am just making stories. He only stopped when I posted some photos of 2012 when I got bruises.

Right now, my brother is not sending messages to my friend anymore after I posted the photos. He thought I was too dumb that I wasn't keeping any evidence. If you ask me why I don't go to the police to file a case. As of now, the police here is not reliable and I am not sure if justice will be served. So, I am just doing for what is right.

Sort:  

Ughhh I hope your brother take some responsibility. Stay strong!

At last, I'm not being loud on Facebook anymore about him. He can't even look me in the eyes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48