Separation Anxiety with Palawan

in #life6 years ago

I came back to Cebu when I found out that my mom needs a second surgery. This time, it's the intestine. My mom got cervical cancer last June 2017. Although I came home in June 2017, I only stayed for one week and flew back to Palawan.

So yeah, I stayed and lived in Palawan for nine (9) months since I arrived there in June 2017. I stayed with a friend with a friend for a month. I had no problem with the accommodation and food. I thanked her for letting me stay for a month with her and her kids. She was such a blessing. She told me that her husband will arrive, of course, I understand. I never had an online project that time so I needed to find a job somewhere in Palawan.

I was torn between looking for work in El Nido in a hotel or resort or restaurant or stay in Puerto Princesa to find a hostel to do some volunteer work with a Wi-Fi. Fortunately, I found one and stayed there for 2 months. I was able to find a writing job online while I was fixing the hostel's website.

After two months, I found a super cheap room for rent for only US$40. I got my own room although the bath is shared. It's near to the city center and I have access to anything: shopping mall, cafes, bank, transportation, market. I am so lucky to find that place and was able to use my pocket wi-fi as the location has better LTE signal.

During my whole stay in Puerto Princesa, it was great. I got my privacy. Gotta live my own life as a free person. Just minding my own business. Met new people. Was able to travel the neighboring towns of Puerto Princesa. My stay in Palawan is a paradise. I can have a quick escape close to Mother Nature. I can get off the grid. Work-Life Balance. I feel so healthier. Eat like a King, hopping from one restaurant to another.

Some friends came over to visit so I was able to get around for free because I became a local tour guide. It was so fun to see them with their friends. We went island hopping. It's something I've never done before even though I keep on coming back to Puerto Princesa. We went around the city just having a good time. I was able to join them in the hotel like I was one of the tourists.

I've visited Port Barton, San Vicente, Roxas, Aborlan, and El Nido during my entire stay in Palawan. There's a lot of places to visit in Palawan especially the South area. My goal is to visit and discover Palawan. Slowly but surely.

I survived Palawan. Thanks to my friends who helped me when I was struggling during the first few months in Palawan. They actually helped me financially. I promised them to pay them back since I was able to save money when I got a writing job online. The moment I wanted to pay them, they told me it's a gift so I should keep it. I'm so lucky to have them as friends.

9 Months in Palawan seems like a month to me. I miss my daily routines there like going to the market to buy some food. Wash my clothes since I have the time. Cleaning my small room. Go find a cafe to work on when I'm bored in my room. Just do a lot of walking wherever I go.

It will become two months since I arrived in Cebu. To be honest, I feel so uncomfortable with Cebu. I hate the traffic.

For now, I'm staying here for my mom and waiting for her recovery.

I am still paying my rent in Puerto Princesa because I still have my stuff there. Palawan is just my sweet escape.

You can check out my blog 'How I Lived Like a Local in Palawan for 9 Months' - https://www.itravelrox.com/2018/05/05/how-to-live-like-a-local-in-palawan/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63