You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sad...YouTube alternative Vidme is shutting down!

in #life6 years ago

I tried out VidMe and while it was kind of cool to have a Youtube alternative the site was honestly never that great IMHO. The idea of having people support their peers just wans't going to work, people are not going to open their wallets to match what big companies will in advertising and not only that but it wasn't convenient to support someone.

One time I wanted to give this girl $5 for a great video, however I was prompted to enter my credit card number so I was going to have to get up and run out to my car to get my card, and wound up not donating.

The other problem is people exepect content for free or near free nowdays. Many people do torrents or use sites like Showbox, Netflix is only like $8 and you get a ton of content. For me to support just 8 creators at $1 per piece would cost me what Netflix costs me and I don't feel I'm getting the value from a handful of vidme creators like I am from Netflix.

Sorry to hear you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68434.91
ETH 3745.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66