I have never questioned my marriage and my wife gives me joy. Says Mukono mayor.

in #life5 years ago

mr kagimu 1.jpg
Gorge Fred Kagimu is the mayor of Mukono municipality and managing Director of Festino Cite also found in Mukono district. He has been married to Gaudencia Nakachwa Kagimu for the last 34 years. The couple is blessed with six children who are all boys Ruth Nakandi had a chat with the couple about how they met and their blossoming relationship.
Kagimu’s account
I first met Gaudencia in 1980 and I was an A’level student at Kitovu Senior Secondary School while she was still in O’level at Masaka secondary school. After completing A’level, I joined Nakawa Business School but I kept on visiting her during holidays.
In 1983, I visited her family. She knew people from my family and I knew people of her family as well. Luckily, her grandmother became very comfortable with me and she welcomed me every time I went to visit them. Our friendship kept on growing as we understood each other.
mr kagimu 2.jpg
We dated for 4 years and I remember I took a decision to marry her because I wanted to start serious life after school. We sat together and I told her that I had decided to marry her. Since we truly loved each other, I took a decision of marriage. When I told her about the proposed wedding date which was just few months ahead, she was very surprised because both of us were still very young.
When I told my mother that I was getting married, she first thought I was joking. Very one at home was very happy for me. My eldest brother and sister were already married so it was an opportunity to see the third person in the family getting married.
She was a good recommendation from my parents and I walked her down the aisle in 1984.
When choosing her to be my life time companion, I looked at her simplicity, discipline and reliability. I was looking at someone who would be there for me all the time. Gaudencia had all these qualities but she was also a beautiful young girl. Our love later grew and resulted into marriage.
I married her out of my personal choice. My mother was very comfortable with her. She used to tell me that she is the girl I should marry because she was very likeable. Most of my relatives were very comfortable with her. We had our first born before we got married.
When two people meet they are supposed to openly speak with each other about almost everything. We used to walk together, exchange small gifts like sweets, handkerchiefs and jerry to keep our love strong. I don’t remember buying for her very expensive gifts.
Double wedding
I loved simple things and did not care whether the wedding was big or small. We did a double wedding with one of my young brothers. I had some money to pay for my wedding expenses and for my brother. I think our wedding was big but a humble one. We celebrated it from my parents’ home in Lwakoni in Kaliziso. It attracted a lot of relatives and friends. We also had a mecedeze benz contributed by father’s friend to transport us. Generally we enjoyed our wedding because we had support of our parents, relatives and friends.
Lesson from parents
My parents were married for 55 years and had a very stable family with 13 children. It is very important to have some people to up look to. Both our parents had very stable marriages. This motivates us to always seek advice and learn from them. To date, we still have family associations every month. We meet as 12 families to discuss matters which can build us in our families.
And in the last 34 years that we have been together, I have never questioned my marriage. My wife gives me joy and supports me in everything including politics. If I did not have her by my side, I would not have won the mayoral seat.
Gaudencia’s narration
I met my husband when I was in O level in Masaka senior secondary school. We got into a relationship when I was only 17 years. After completing senior four, I went to Kitovu hospital for a midwifery course.
He was very handsome and polite. Everything was good on him. I loved him from the start but first disturbed him a bit whenever he requested that we meet. I wanted to first confirm if he was in love with me. My grandmother loved him so much and she told me that he had nice looking figures.
But also, my parents appreciated him. We kept our friendship bond through sending love letters to one another because that was the only means of communication at the time.
I was so happy when he asked for my hand in marriage although I did not understand why he hurried to propose to me. I knew God was in control and accepted to get married to him. He loved and cared for me. He used to buy for me simple gifts like sweets every time we met and to date, he still buys me gifts every time he travels something that has kept our love growing every day.
My husband is the best gift to me. He makes me happy and feel virtuous and love has been paramount in our relationship. I make sure I give him all the support he needs as a leader and he also support me in everything that I do. I started driving when I was 20 years, he built me a lovely home, involved me in his businesses and we always travel together in other countries. We also trust each other and whenever he travels, I have never doubted him because trust has kept our marriage strong.
Keeping love strong
Children created a strong bond between us because we had them earlier and we were not forced into marriage. We trust and appreciate each other and we understand that we are not perfect because we know our different weaknesses and strength.
Advice to couples
Be open to one another. We are doing businesses together, operate the same bank account, she knows the money I have and I also know the money she has. We are open to each other financially. Although some women may change with money, the negative factors are smaller than the positive factors.
If your wife trusts you, she will be honest with business money but if she doubts you, she will choose to be dishonest with the money. Am spending most of my time in politics, my wife manages my businesses. We do the same activities in church. Church responsibilities are also very good for married people.
Every time of your life should be joy. Have fun together by doing the things you love. My wife and I love travelling. My wife loves motorbikes but I love rally car racing and I give her an opportunity to go and enjoy motorbike rally.
Couples should know that they are not perfect and should understand that they are stronger when together. Remember that the best way to manage your future is to manage someone you love.
They should take their marriage so important and know the purpose why they are married. Know your responsibilities as a wife. Wives should always exercise patience in their marriage and always put God first in everything they do.

God bless you.

Sort:  

Its a wonderful story from the mayor. Thanks @ruthnatala for sharing

Thanks so much big bro. I appreciate.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Congratulations @ruthnatala! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59