What's your crypto journey?

in #life6 years ago

What was your journey?

I discovered crypto in late 2012/2013 - living in my Aunts basement.
(How a 44 yr old wound up living in his Aunt's basement is a long , mostly idiotic story)

I mined my first bitcoin with an old 32bit server I found free on craigslist.
That was a cool machine w/nice 10k rpm scsi drives. It sucks that it got stolen (another crappy story there too, maybe one day I will tell it)

Man, I was one hell of a faucet whore too - bitcoin/dogecoin/eth/dash. You name it, if there was a faucet - i was on it.

I remember my first XRP. I was doing(learning) freelance php / web dev when I stumbled into the free XRP developer sign-up. So, I received my first XRP free. (june 1 , 2013)

Then came dec 2013. My son was hit by a car while crossing the road in front of the house. The sister-in-law ran a fake go-fund-me - and made out with $1600. Apparently there is no criminality there(texas) - we could have tried to sue her in civil court - but when you're dead ass broke and worried about your son living through to the next day you just kind of have to brush that off.

I lost my pants in phoenix - long story short - AZ police suck.

We lived at RonaldMcDonald house for 4 months while we helped my son recover (TBI Traumatic Brain Injury)- The care center was under-staffed and I had to spend several nights sleeping in his room in a chair.

Immediately upon returning after 4 months of trauma - the land lord informed us she wanted to take possession of her house(we weren't getting evicted, ahe just wanted to move back into the house)

Finding a place to move to w/limited income in a rural area is not the easiest thing to accomplish.

(fill this spot with moving a couple more times sprinkled with horrible room-mates, crappy job luck, loss of income , repo'd car we still owe 11k for)

I quit my maintenance man job Jan 2nd because my back had gone out like 3 times in 3 months - it was just getting too painful to work. We asked my wife's boss for a raise - woohoo go team us - we might make it a little longer.

One of our other sons needed some help - so me and the broke as hell mrs. sent him some $$ to help him out - and the extra $$ spent for her to fly out. What A nightmare - long story short , our own son was such as asshole we borrowed $$ to get the mrs. back home. The worst thing on the planet is a toxic environment.

A lot of good it does to try to go up the ladder. We find out recently that our (aca)health insurance was canceled - and now we have to pay for trump care that costs just about what my wife's raise was. So basically - we just get to give the raise away - right to the insurance industry.

Can you believe this shit - we actually get punished for doing good !!!

I haven't had any extra time or energy to put anything into crypto for a couple years now - f*** me it's been rough.

That guy on the corner with the cardboard sign - i give him the change from my console when I can , hell I've even given them $5's, $10's or $20's when I'm up on my luck.

So here I am - trying to fight the seemingly never-ending game of 'debt'.

I am gearing up to start writing code again - it's so fucking hard to think and learn and be creative with the sword of damocles over your head. What the hell, I made it this far - let's see how much I can recover on the next sprint.

OK, gotta go - time to clean out the spare room and get the new ripple 1.x node running - then it's on to nodejs and codius ;)


The easiest way to help the broke carpenter is an upvote and maybe a resteem.

The next best way is to sign up for the fastest dex on the planet - bitshares - https://wallet.bitshares.org/?r=rxhector2k5

and there is always the good ol' just send it to a wallet

xrp (ripple) : rL4fPHi2FWGwRGRQSH7gBcxkuo2b9NTjKK
bts : rxhector2k5
btc : 14kqFXASNjFxw8kNcJFWd1rbptwrPw8xcT
eth : 0xc112088e2236b137c37c265d23803e52e9c505a3
drk (dash) : XeHLfeMcLdTQ7D9qBA62ch6CyQxNhJshfK
doge : DLYfYwvt6idVCmoq5BbLBGhWP6ohgxuPbq

projects you may end up funding

  • better server

  • better network equipment (better switch/router)

  • better drives (need storage space on servers - thinking about a boinc node)

  • future servers/vms

  • need to run a bitshares node

  • need to run a steemit node

  • investigate eos

  • colocation = $650/mo

  • server = ????; (cluster @$5k/ea)

  • bills = $2k/mo

unemployment ain't gonna fix that

i got a few website/gamification ideas - but need to get network and nodes running better before jumping back to development environment

[manna]
https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=38c7fefa79

[basic income]
https://steemit.com/basicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-a-complete-overview
https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://steemit-production-imageproxy-upload.s3.amazonaws.com/DQmYyGi4HvKXuvQJ7sWPQHH5W33ThfAE74dpsJgMJ6n8UiZ

[whaleshares]

#life #of #a #broke #carpenter #posting #ulog #for #steemit #basicincome

© rxhector
peace ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64