You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Know What I'm Doing So I'll Do It Anyway and Call It Cool

in #life5 years ago

This place does (currently) seem to be the only one where it literally pays to be a quiet consumer (unless I'm misunderstanding one of the other sites I was playing on but am currently only habitually glancing into every day).

Given the amount of times I've heard my kids favourite Youtubers panicking about possible demonetisation I keep thinking maybe they should be here instead.

Sort:  

Youtube is under a lot of pressure from advertisers. Youtubers, for the most part, can't seem to comprehend the business model here. They need a large viewership though. Most fail at bringing their following over and simply use this platform as a place to double dip.

Do you remember trying to get your friends/family to sign up to a new instant messaging thing/website/social media/etc because it's better than whatever you're using? If you've never done that you're much smarter than I am XD If you have, you already know how nigh on impossible it is to budge people XD I thought my latest attempt to onboard my sister had a chance as she asked me to do Inktober with her this year, and I said I would if she joined steem. Neither of those things happened ^_^;

simply use this platform as a place to double dip.

I don't understand? :S If you're talking about cross-posting, that's pretty much all I do. I don't cross-post to nearly as many places these days because time is my biggest issue now, but it was always about finding potentially new interested and interesting people who might not be in other places I was, and also something about eggs and baskets. Never really thought about it being double dipping before O_O

In fairness to the Youtubers, I don't think a lot of people understand the business model here. Hell even a lot of people here (or that were here) don't understand the business model here.

I don't sell this place as a social network to friends and colleagues. Doing that only sets them up for disappointment because then they think all it takes is a facebook style post numerous times per day to get anywhere. I tell the capable folks I know this is a good platform to publish your own online magazine, or something like that.

I don't cross post. This entity works here exclusively. There's more money in that I find. If people can go anywhere to see what I do here, they don't need to come here, and that's not good. I want them here, I want them signing up, I hope they purchase some stake so they can tip forever. It's a good deal. Best in town.

You're right. Most don't get this business model. Most don't even realize it's a business.

I do understand that logic and don't see anything wrong with staying exclusively on one site. Personally I'd rather be easily accessible and have backups in case something goes poof :) Having said that I'm pretty much down to just steem that gets everything my blog gets, because cross-posting is a time consuming pain in the system. Managing just one account would be much easier! XD The other sites I post to are just getting my finished art, Narrative might also be getting my homeschooling miscellany but I'm back on observer mode with it, either way pretty few and far between posts.

If I had to explain this place I think I'd describe it as kind of like a two-way ko-fi :)

The style this entity uses requires the community and social elements found here. On the surface, it might look strange to stumble across a rambling post with random questions and suddenly tomatoes, like my most recent post, anywhere else. That stuff doubles as consumer friendly marketing and has brought in a lot of eyes to view my sometimes bizarre outsider art style. There's a method to my madness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71