OPEN philosophy #1: grown attached

in #life7 years ago

open_phil_logo4.png

OPEN philosophy will be kind of a blog inside this blog here on steemit. I use it, to let you guys participate me, roaming freely my mind.

Beginning with today’s thoughts:

Lately I feel grown attached to my girlfriend very much. Well, this isn’t a rant, I consider myself very lucky to have such a lovely and cuddly woman at my side. Its just feels like getting less and less independent. This is a bit intimidating for me.

Luckily I remembered Photocorynus spiniceps, commonly known as anglerfish. The deep seas are a strange place,in which evolution have found special ways for life to develop and spread. This is one of my favourites:

Allow me to introduce: Mrs. Angler from 4000 meters (13000 feet) below the ocean's surface.


Image Credits

Nice to meet you! What a beauty you are, Mrs. Angler! Do you want to tell us, where you left your husband? He is already here, you say?


Image Credits

I would like to extend my most sincere apology to you, Mr. Angler! I didn't mean to contempt you, I just did not ... recognize you as an independent.. male.. May I ask politely what happened there?

It appears that Mr. Angler isn't an independent male at all. When he first met Mrs. Angler in his early years, he fell in love with her to such an extend, that he literally grew attached to her.

In their wedding night, male anglerfish bite females to merge - in some species, even have her skin growing into his mouth. His teeth will change, he won't be able to hunt and eat for himself anymore, dependently connected to her bloodstream, which will henceforth feed him. His only job is to give sperm. When she dies, he'll die with her. When he dies, his body is most likely absorbed into hers.
There have been anglerfish females observed not having one but up to eight males attached to them.

ohboi.png

I guess I can keep calm and independently go on with my life

Sort:  

Well love and attachment is a great thing, but you should keep a bit more distance to your girlfriend than this male angler fish :D

I understand that feeling by the way... so hard if I think about moving into the same flat with a girlfriend!

Luckily there isn't so much water around us and my theeth aren't that sharp. :D

I wish you two the best of luck

I wish the same to both of you!

Well... Then never move to a town near an ocean and never miss your dentist appointment :P

Thank you for allowing us to walk freely through your mind, an enlightening experience to say the least.
Here we can get into the blurred lines between dysfunction and desire, yet I'll leave that to someone else if they wish. I would rather embrace your cognitive recognition in yourself and your situation instead.
It's as if I have been invited along to collaborate rather than simply follow.

Yet I'm a bit of weirdo myself, I don't even trust my own perception at times ;) .

IMAGE SOURCE:
Thee Temple of Psychick Youth (amessagefromthetemple)

As I tried to post recently - and got lost in world wide webs, I only can repeat myself here.
it's love I live. It's tough to experience. In the moment I am. I reward love with love and stick to my loved ones. Life is scareful, but it makes the best out of us. Sometimes we have to see trough. Life is a journey nobody understands. It's a paradox

Congratulations @s0phos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53