Long Weekend - Escaping without travelling!

in #life6 years ago

If you have just come across this article then there are two possibilities:

1- You have a holiday approaching with weekend sandwiched in between.
2- You are planning to take a day or two off and enjoy a long weekend.

Whatever the case is, it doesn’t matter. What matters is that you are getting multiple days off from work and you can’t wait for it to begin!
I know some of you may even be thinking, “Who needs to plan a weekend anyway? Of course, I am going to spend it in my bed!”. I understand that bed becomes the most favorite spot on the weekends and if it happens to be a break after a long tiring week then that really is the best place to find comfort. However, holidays are not only meant to be spent sleeping in bed. Every person has that other side out of work that involves different interests which one rarely gets the time to follow. Weekends are meant to be relaxing but relaxing doesn’t only mean lying around in pajamas. Try to make it productive in a fun way and you will be amazed at how fresh and motivated you will feel even at the end of a long weekend!

1.jpg

source

While most of the people like to travel during their holidays, some don’t have the luxury to be able to travel because of the budget. However, that doesn’t mean that one can’t enjoy the weekend at home. So I have a long weekend coming up and I have been making a list of things that I would like to do over these three days long weekend, take a look. You might get some ideas for yours!

Game night:
Call up your friends and cousins and arrange a game night at your place! Try not to make it a big event because of which you have to spend the next morning cleaning up your place. Just invite a few close buddies and arrange some board games and cards. Get some popcorn and drinks and keep it simple. Let everybody relax in their pajamas and enjoy some fun games! This is not only a good way of relaxing but it’s also a great way to catch up with friends and chill with them. Try to arrange off-screen games that also require you to use your mind.

2.jpg
source

Make a List:
Open up your notepad and make a list of all the things that you have wanted to do but haven’t had the time to do it yet. This doesn’t need to include only extravagant dreams. It could be as simple as cycling, painting, cooking, gardening or even watching your favorite movie. However, the more physical movement it involves, the better, just to keep you active. Open your wardrobe and sort out your clothes. You could also try rearranging your bedroom so that when you go back to work after your holidays, you have something to look forward to all day. New settings are always exciting!

3.png
source

4.jpg
source

Spend time with the family:
One of the greatest ways to truly relax is in the company of your family. If you live far from the family and haven’t had the time to hang out with your siblings then now is the time. Call up your family and get together with them. Talk and get everybody’s update. Spend some time just talking with the family and your mind will instantly be diverted from all the tensions related to work life.

5.jpg
source

Follow your passion:
Not everybody gets their dream job due to various reasons. Many times, the job is different from the person has always wanted to do in life. However, I still think that one should be thankful for the work they’re getting to do and not whine about it not being their dream job. You can still fulfill your dreams and wishes in your free time. If it is something you want to learn then just go to the internet and learn how to do it. In this era of technology, it couldn’t be any easier for one to learn things of their interest over the internet. Try to find your skill through your heart. Listen to that inner voice that makes you want to opt for different activities. Observe what your body is telling you to do and how it wants to be moved.

Go out and enjoy fresh air and the sun:
With so much competition and such hectic routines, sometimes, the whole day is spent at the office and you miss out on seeing the daylight and the outdoor life in the daytime. If you can’t travel out of the city, its fine. You can definitely travel out of your home. Go out and have a walk around your area. Go to the beach if you can and soak up that sun. Enjoy fresh cocktails and the company of people around you. Realize how beautiful the life is. If you really do want to spend your time relaxing on a couch at home, try to make it a beach chair instead of the couch and beach instead of your house. You can also spend some time at the park to enjoy the sunset and children playing all around you while natural sounds surround you.

6.jpg
source

These are just some of the things I promised to practice during my long weekend. I do have my reasons to follow the list. I might not be able to do everything on these three days, but it is satisfying enough for me to give it a try. It would keep me motivated for a long time, until the next long weekend.
Enjoy!

Sort:  

Great ideas!

Such great ideas! Thank you for sharing!

I'm happy that you included "Follow your passion". because I'm using my weekends to do that in the lately and hope my plan will succeed.

I wish all the best for you

be close to the nature

Yes, we should do that also

Very nice blog. i enjoy reading motivational topics. i am very impressed. actually i am having a two weeks vacation from my annual leave. so this topic i hope will also keep me motivated. i will follow your helpful tips. thanks.

I am very glad that it had positive impact on you.Thank so very much for this wonderful feedback

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sameer777 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

It's rather hard to conduct it in Asia countries due to the crazy humid and extreme hot temperature, an hour or 2 under without sufficient hydration the direct sun will put you in hospital. But for me, I spent most of my weekend in town having the best activity which is eating hahaha! If you're interested, check me out @explorernations where I blog about food and travels!

I feel great when I read your post conitnue like that @sameer777

Thank you, I'll try my best

These are great alternatives to traveling. Weekends for me are often so busy but this weekend I was able to enjoy a family game/movie night myself.

That is so great

Love the nature :) Will follow you. You can check also my post just now for Discovery of our nature in my place :)

Going to check now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79