Interviewing Mr. Video Delux

in #life8 years ago

Yesterday I met with a guy, let's call him "Mr. Video Deluxe," from my church to talk business. Ultimately I wanted to interview him to see if he'd be a good fit for starting a side business together. We have talked before about the video work he does for the church. He has similar work experience as me and I wanted to learn about where he feels he's headed in the future - career wise. He told me that he sees himself in ministry still.

I asked him what type of video he likes to do the most. Story telling. I asked him how he likes promotional videos (since that's a business I want to get into). Mr. Video Deluxe likes it as long as it has a noble story. Then I asked him if he thinks he'd be able to do a company video for the place I work. A small tech business. He asked if we have a good story and I told him our story. He agreed that he would be able to do a video for us.

I asked him what he knew about passive income. He knew very little. But loved the idea of it.

I asked him, "What about working for yourself?" He doesn't like the business side of it. And appreciates a steady paycheck, but understands that steady doesn't mean security.

I asked him what e thought about having a lifestyle business - working from anywhere. He really likes the thought of that.

I've seen his work and it's good. I liked his answers so far.

"What do you think about working together on building a side business?" I seriously asked that... And regretted it immediately. I don't really know Mr. Video Deluxe that well. I toned it back a bit. "What I mean is this, what do you think about a work from home video business?" I asked for confidentiality and he agreed and told him my plan. He likes it a lot.

Both of us are working on many side projects right now so we agreed on meeting monthly for now. And maybe in about 6 months starting this side project. He's interested.

I'm still a little hesitant and want to meet up with someone who has started a side business before to see if I'm going about this correctly.

I want to be somewhat cautious because I want to do this right, but really I want freedom from the 9-5 gig or In my case 7-6 gig.

My goal to increase my passive income past my expenses is huge because I currently don't have any passive income and have many monthly expenses.

What a journey this is going to be. Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56