How I got interested in farming

in #life6 years ago

For several years I have been involved in one way or the other in farming. Once I started learning my right from left, I could always remember my parents taking me to the farm on the weekends,we would leave every early in the morning and stay there until close to noon. Doing various agricultural farm practices.We did the work all by ourselves, from bush clearing/burning to making of heaps/mounds/bed to planting(the part I always enjoyed). I always love planting corn/maize(even up till now)!

Selfie with young maize plants

We had different small farms in the compound, with my father been the first and only to have a pineapple plantation in the compound we lived by then.We grew several food crops in our farms: Cassava, Yam, water yam, three leaved yam, coco yams, Maize, Pineapple, melon, fluted pumpkin, broad leaf pumpkin, green amaranth, mint leaf, bitter leaf, pepper(sweet and chili), garden egg. I guess you might think we have one big farm but no, we had small farm some within home(at the backyard) others far from home(but trekkable distance though).

At My Dad's Pineapple plantation

Little did I know then that one day I will become an Agriculturist, I always wanted to be an Engineer like my Father who is a trained Telecommunication Engineer by profession during the working hours of the day, but who was a Farmer after working hours and on weekends! In my next post, I will let you know how I became an Agriculturist and not an Engineer!

Some dividends of family farming - Here is Mum arranging some harvested pineapples and seed yams for next planting season

Sort:  

Upvoted.. return the favor and follow me for more, one of my main focuses on here is gardening aswell. and advanced cloning etc technicques to preserve the genetics of prized plants. you may like my future postings!

Thanks for the vote, i have followed you and upvoted your intro posts too. I hope to read your posts soon. Regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73