It's 10 years already and I'm still pressing on

in #life6 years ago (edited)

selfiecamera_2018-02-04-08-04-36-197.jpg

In 2008, I started my higher education journey, I got admission into the university of Port Harcourt to study computer science. It started roughly because there was no funds to pay fees, accommodation and no money for books.

I almost gave up until I attended a meeting at christ embassy somewhere on Port Harcourt. After the meeting, I went home super charged, I felt the whole world was mine. After that meeting, I got an understanding that the challenges I was going through then was compulsory for me to be strong. Without those challenges I wouldn't have discovered lots of things I could do.

Those challenges squized out the best in me. I had no one to depend on or call when I had needs, no one to even talk ( only child).

After that meeting, I was able to build up courage to start up a boxer and shirt business.

The business grew and I later upgraded to some other services, such as renting generators and projectors.


Online advertisements for my early business

IMG_20180707_151711_949.JPG
IMG_20180707_151725_207.JPG

Summary

My parents couldn't pay my fees, that was enough excuse for me to quit. But I didn't, I knew it was so because I'm special. You can't get pure gold without fire.....

I wanted a different story, I wanted people to say

He finished school without help from parents.....

Today not only did I go to the university, I'm also partly sponsoring one of my cousins in the university school.

Don't ever quit.

Sort:  

Wow. Your story is motivating. Mad respect.

Yeah man this is so motivating i upvoted 1005 and resteemed and i will tag @surfyogi so he can see anothr high qualty West African Steemian who deserves his attention, oooh that binance qr code is so fresh onyour other post,i resteemed that one too! the eos hgub, man KEEP promoting eos

CREATE A SPACE for Ghanian, Nigerian and west african EOS projects ... Education gov healthcare etc etc all can be helped with EOS, its like TOO perfect to not use!

And you NEED to use Ghjana and nigeria and the countries around west africa, to use EOS and steem even as a way to conduct trade without teh need for exchange rates

already steemians in Ghana and Nigeria are able to travela nd use their tseem between nations, it is like theri OWN version of the Euro but MUCH better, So it will be impressive also when eos has its decentralzied exchanges, and also when Africans use StellarX platform which is more than a decentralzied crypto exchange it wil also let peopel buy stocks andbonds etc, so AFricans being ablke to buy western stocks and bonds easily with steller will be huge man, but fuck stocks we have crypto :D but stioll its a great thingto have the option for regardles... being able to ente rany market digitally is a blessing now

SO anyway we must use the west african nations to show how we have a multi national tool that can cross borders, and we can even use steem and eos as a way to hedge against inflation, fuuuckimagine companies private citizens andbanmks all uysing crypto as their reserve currency. It will catch on from grass roots, peopel will see steem is so perfect for beginners because there really is nothingto loose but maybe some Time byusing steem, and we all have time if we are looking formoney.

i swear man steem will be the salvation of west african economy, it will explode, massive Chinese/India style growth!

i swear man steem will be the salvation of west african economy, it will explode, massive Chinese/India style growth!

I honestly affirm to this quote @ackza
Crypto will liberate Africa

It's already the salvation

Sure...... Steem had really changed a lot of people's story.... And I'm one of them.... I've been able to build a huge community, too bad I couldn't get support to help my community, but some of them are doing well already

Persistence, perseverance always gives rise to success. We had almost similar experience but mine was more rough. As a teenager, I used to be very extravagant with money. It wasn't that there was no money to fund my higher education but no amount of money was enough for me. I used to spend all, tuition fee inclusive, even before going back to school. At a point, my parents told me to go to hell for all the care since I wasn't the only one they were catering for.

So I had to advice myself and floated a business with my second year school fees. I would buy CD plates from Alaba market and resold in school for profits. The business flourished so much that I bought Tokumbo Benz 190 in my 4th year and became the bigboy I had always wanted to be, and by the time we graduated, I was having roughly N1.7milion cash.

It pays to always keep trying even when one is faced with imminent failure.

Quite a motivating post.

Regards

@eurogee of @euronation and @steemstem communities

Wow, are you serious? Imagine you didn't try? Thank God you did

Happy for you brother. Glad you took the challenge and moved forward. Congratulations! This is a great lesson for every young person around especially those who never see value in themselves. God created us all with so much value.

Yea, each person is unique

I am happy and super proud of you @samstickkz any time. This is just the beginning God's favour has found you for greatness.

Keep pressing.

This is an encouraging post that tells us to keep pushing forward till we reach our goal. Thank God that in all you came out on top, more grace to you

Amikable

This is so touching
A humble story from grass to grace
You are a Blessing, Bro

Thanks for motivating me

You welcome sir

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.
The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.
For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67