Facing Distraction

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Facing-Distraction_2017_sanderjansen_webversion.jpg

Facing Distraction

Hello everyone! Today I want to show you my artwork called "Facing Distraction". I finished this digital painting in August 2017. It is hand drawn in Photoshop with my Wacom Cintiq 13 HD. Maybe you have seen the image a while ago in my blog about an exhibition I had in Amsterdam.

I'm always distracted really fast and my mind can wander off all the time. I like to see it as a skill I always use when I draw. Same as seeing faces in a few lines....

I wanted to create an artwork that would visualize a little bit how it is. I started to draw a face in the middle and than go further in detail. I already had the ideas for the colors but not all the linework. I didn't had any plan and just started to draw lines and (hidden) creatures. It is some kind of flow I can't really explain but often I draw things like my innerworld is telling me something trough the lines. I love to create art where you can look at many times and still discover new things.

Progress shots

Here I will show some progress when I was working on it. I started with sketching a face as you can see in the first shot. The second picture is when I was doing the linework. I always add extra lines when I'm coloring too because I see new things I want to add. Sometimes doing linework I feel like it will be crap in the end so I switch to coloring to give myself new inspiration and motivation.

Digital-Painting-portrai-sketch.jpg

Digital-Painting-portrait13.jpg

Digital-Painting-WIP_sanderjansen.png

Digital-Painting-portrait3c.jpg

wip123.jpg

Some close ups when I was working on it.

wip2.jpg

wip-coloring.png

I'm not sure how long it took me to create this but I think I worked on it for a few months and too many hours...

Digital artwork on display

Below you can see a photo from an exhibition I had this year displaying the artwork.

IMG_1875.JPG

Pictures of the print

The print is available on my website (www.sanderjansen.net) or you can contact me on discord (SanderJansenArt#8822) or email. The print is of great quality 240gsm natural white archival paper with archival inks. Paper size is 400 x 500 mm and bigger than my other prints.

If you order one I'm happy to sign it for you and you will get some cool stickers.

facing-distraction-print.jpg
facing-distraction-print2.jpg

It is funny and a bit irony that my concentration is the same as an elderly goldfish at the moment while writing about "Facing Distraction". :D

I think this is the best digital painting I ever created so far. I'm curious what you think?

thanksforeverything-sanderjansen.png

Sort:  

This is a really neat piece, indeed. Nice intricated mass, and interesting contrasts, the whole with your very specific touch.

This one and your "Confused" one are the only two printed I've seen so far, and I find them both great.

I think each piece contributing to build that graphic universe of yours is worth the time spent at diving into the details. That includes your pencil made ones :)

Thank you very much @berien! Well got some others too so I will promote them again maybe :)

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Amazing, Sander, this is one of my favourite pieces of yours. It really boasts of your style so strongly <3 The hidden faces, the solid colours, the way everything is more than what meets the eyes at first <3 Wonderful piece !

The step by step is also beautifully presented and it is amazing to see it on display at the exhibition, framed and hung on the wall like that <3

Very nice art <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

It is truly one of your best digital art that I've seen so far, it is intricate and exquisitely detailed. Both the lines and the colours are so good and complimenting each other very well.
                       
Very nice work, Sander :D.

Your art never ceases to amaze me, this is fantastic! I included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you very much @juliakponsford. And thank you for including my art in your post :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Well I haven't seen your entire oeuvre but this is my fav of what I have seen. The shapes are so clean and fit together so well. So many subtle expressions worked in with all the mouths and faces morphing in and out of the negative spaces. Love it

Thank you very much! Maybe I have to make a post with all of them but I can understand not everyone saw all the posts :) Thank you for your kind words!

This is quite amazing! I love the color choices and seeing the drawing process makes even more incredible.

Thank you very much!

Beautiful but disturbing.

Or maybe mostly disturbing, but... it's special. So much detail too.

Would not want a print in my bedroom to scare me at nights ;)

Thank you very much!

Don't really see a disturbing side but more like you can wander off in all the details and discover things :)

Hello @sanderjansenart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80