Taking Ownership. A Step Towards Empowerment

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Think about a time when you’ve been down and out. Perhaps work isn’t going well, your car broke down or you're financially broke and your personal life is hanging by a thread. You feel completely out of control. “It doesn’t matter what I do, this sh** happens anyway” you tell yourself. It’s as though you’re a chess piece in a game you have no control over, or do you?

chess.jpg

Placing yourself in the victim mentality only places you in a position of powerlessness. Being the victim doesn’t solve any ones problems, rather, it enhances them. I think today’s society glamorizes the victim mentality and has made it the norm. Sayings like “its not fair", "it’s their fault"etc. perpetuate the problem.

I’m not sure about everyone else, but for me personally, December has been an extremely tough month. Murphy’s Law was definitely in full swing. Instead of having a pity party for myself (which I admittedly indulged in a few times), I made an intentional decision to take ownership of things that went wrong. I said to myself. “those things are in the past, but what can I do now to change my outcome going forward? Work harder? Be more positive? Not be a sore loser?" Perhaps all three, but it was amazing to notice how simply taking ownership and accountability for my circumstances put me back in the driver’s seat of my life and provided peace of mind.

wonder woman.jpg

I'm not saying be blissfully ignorant, but give yourself a short window of time to be mad, upset or sad and then TAKE ownership. Acknowledging the difficulty of a situation can surprisingly provide the strength you need get through a hurdle. Putting a plan in place and developing a mentality to attack your goals with gusto will also give you more control.

The word decision is from the Latin word dēcīdere which literally means to “cut off”. Making a decision is about cutting off alternative choices and cutting out alternative actions. Although this sounds harsh, it’s extremely empowering. DECIDE that you are in control. Decide to eliminate all those negative thoughts and self sabotaging behaviors that are hindering your progression.

I hope this post empowers anyone who's had a tough month to to keep on keeping on!

Until next time :)

Sort:  

Some people do not admit that they have a problem. They tend to blame other people or the events around them. It takes a lot of inner resource for one to step aside and look at the things from different perspective. This resource is related to our adversity quotient.

@dysfunctional I think this also relates to self-awareness in a way as you suggest. Being able to step back and see different prospectives is a sign of emotional intelligence that is an undervalued skill in our society.

People need to speak more about topics like this. Unfortunately it's easier said than done. Some people just do not have these resources within them. It's not an excuse. It's how things are.

We are in control! Great read 🤓

Christmas is a very hard time for people, but they do not realise the lie. Santa Claus is a representation of Santa Claustrum the inner mid part of the brain in the third eye. It is where DMT is secreted from. Santa going down the chimney is not giving gifts like the type you buy from ToysRus it is delivering the gifts of the third eye. I tell people for that reason to lay off the shopping :)

@crowd4good it is ironic how tough this time of year is when it’s supposed to be all about joy. Although my personal struggles were not Christmas related more so professional and goal related I can completely see how this season can throw people for a loop.

Tough times all round stay strong you have friends here :)

@sarahjeanette when murphy's law is in full for myself, I like to ask myself, "what can I learn from these circumstances?"

There's always something to learn, and in my opinion, there's often a very good reason for the experience I am having. Most of the time, it requires me to meditate on it in order to become conscious of what that is.

I really like how you defined "decision". It is absolutely so necessary to DECIDE who you are. As you are in full control of how you define yourself.

Great post here @sarahjeanette! I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: The Wisdom Will Flow When You Listen to H2O

@axios thank you! I checked out your post- very well written :)

Congratulations @sarahjeanette! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70759.18
ETH 3812.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44