How to Overcome Pain + Negativity

in #life4 years ago

IMG_20200625_163341.jpg

Hello friends,

I'm taking place in a pact... I only post about things that uplift and inspire. It's not about ignoring the pain, it's about OVERCOMING IT. This is social art for social change, inspired by Amanda Flaker's experiment.

First of all, I'm not here to tell you how to feel. Pain and grief are a natural reaction...but you don't have to stay there! In order to overcome pain, you have to train your brain to focus on things that light you up. You do this by paying attention to more joyful things (like a gratitude list) and writing them on paper.

Here's what I'm doing to OVERCOME the pain in the world.

What I'm reading:
I binge read Kevin Hart's Book, "I can't make this up." He chronicles his 16 years to becoming an "overnight" success. I loved it.

I recently read The Book of Joy by the Dalai Lama, about thriving during tough times. I got it from the library but I plan on reading it again and again so I bought it. According to his holiness the Dalai Lama, if you rely on outside circumstances to be perfect or even okay, then you will NEVER be happy. You have to find something to appreciate now. It's a triggering statement but it's true. Even the poorest person has something to appreciate.

What I'm creating: After months of exhaustion, I am back on the canvas again. I posted about my art work here: https://steemit.com/art/@sarahjordan/on-my-easel-again-in-nature-work-in-progress-to-finished-painting

IMG_20200624_161816.jpg

Music:
I reimagined Sweet Child O Mine by GNR for the ukulele. I spent all day filming and editing a music video for my Dad after he had open heart surgery. Thankfully he is recovering. Here is the video: https://steemit.com/music/@sarahjordan/sweet-child-o-mine-cover-sweet-dad-of-mine

Thanks for connecting <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61