How To Keep Going When Things Get Hard

in #life7 years ago

Nothing can be more uncertain than life. One moment you are high up on the sky getting a taste of true happiness and another moment you are being pushed beneath the ground feeling completely helpless. Yes, life has a habit of doing that. 

It can be hard to manoeuvre the many twists and turns of life at times and it is in these moments when a person is at the most vulnerable state, almost ready to give up. When nothing seems to be going right, it is easy to let the negativity take a hold of you and just quit.

Quitting however, is the easier of the options in the face of an adversity. Although it might sometimes be a necessary one, most of the times it is seen that the person who goes beyond his capacity to endure the pain and suffering, comes out as the victor.

Yes, sometimes life is not fair and yes, life is harder for some than others but that’s the way it is and there is no option but to keep going. In such times, you need to remind yourself some very important things which might just save you and put you back on the path. 

1. Remember Why You’re Doing It

When you are down and ready to quit, ask yourself again and again, why you are doing it and for whom. The ‘why’ can be a very powerful reminder, which is very important as we tend to lose sight of the important details during the tough times. 

Also remember the people you are doing it for, remember their faces, and what they mean to you. You overcoming your situation will only make them happier and proud of you and if you ultimately do succeed, all the hardships would have been worth it. 

2. Ask For Help

Nobody is truly alone in the world. Everyone has at least one person they can turn to for advice or for help. Your friends and family and even your colleagues at your work place can help you in their own ways. 

If you think you simply can’t do it alone, the first thing you need to do is spend time with loved ones and tell them about what’s going on. Talking to them can ease a little of your pain. They will be definitely willing to walk with you until you can do that on your own.

3. Look For Motivation

One of the things that happens during the really tough times is that you lose all motivation and the will to move forward. Therefore, it is very important to find your ‘mojo’ back. What you need, is motivation and some inspiration.

You can look up to any mentors of yours and read stories about great men and how they handled tough situations and achieved what they set out to achieve. It will give you comfort in the fact that this happens to everyone and overcoming this is possible. 

4. Take A Step Back

Sometimes, to go two steps forward, you have to take one step back. What I mean is, when things are not going right, you might need to examine why that is so and re-examine the whole situation from a different angle. 

You could even take a break if that would help you clear your head so that you can start afresh with new energy. Sometimes we become myopic and thus it becomes important to look at the bigger picture to move forward.


Image Credits 1

Sort:  

This is powerful. Thanks for sharing

Thank you so much for reading :)

Had to resteem this. I needed to read this. Thanks

Actually I did too. In a way, I was trying to motivate myself...if that makes any sense hehe :)

I thought I was having a nervous breakdown before I read this. I mostly write my posts to motivate myself. And it works. It also helps my mind to organize things in my head. If that makes sense??😁

Nice post upvoted! Dont forget brother, I noticed you have been sending STEEM to poloniex. You can also cash out your SBD directly for BTC. It is better than converting your SBD into STEEM then cashing out. Also holding some of the SBD you earn in your Steemit wallet will earn interest.

Yes, I am in need of money right now that's why I'm doing it. Thanks for the tip man! :)

Thank you for sharing helpful information in your post.

I am glad you liked it :)

Hello
Thank you very much for sharing all these healing words and that I feel identified with them. I am also having a difficult time and the truth is that it is already for some time, thanks again for your wonderful words
Upvote and Resteemed

People who are going through similar circumstances can really relate and I am glad if my words had a healing effect on you. I wish we lived in a world which was 'easier' but alas it isn't so. I hope everything goes well in your life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71