Childhood fancies - day 52 of the Steemit school 100 day poetry challenge

in #life6 years ago (edited)

asus photos 1578.jpg

visits to the children park
waiting for a turn to swing
running around, enjoying the cool breeze
with the backwaters as the scene
parents enjoying fried peanuts
and the evening air
life was simpler back then
with no gadgets to stare at
kids playing real games
elders taking a stroll and relaxing
time often stood still
and holidays were a real gain
children were not sent to camps
or forced to study science or math
games, and great food
plucking mangoes from the trees around
childhood fancies, oh so good
it all changed
within a decade
mobiles and tablets
iPhones and Androids
whatsapp and social sites
man has no time now
the rat race is getting worse

what for are we humans living now
is it the money?
to be spent on comforts
real happiness
is got from contentment

Try to be content with what you have. Spend time with loved ones, enjoy life.

@d-pend contest

entry for Announcing the Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge! (Total Prize Fund 2000 SBD)

I write poems to express myself. I started writing at the age of twelve or so and some of my poems were published in magazines for children, a time when print still ruled the world. The internet and the blogging world has helped me write poems. Most of it was as I wrote earlier, to express myself and my thoughts. I have also been a ghostwriter.
Steemit has helped me write with freedom and also earned me very good friends who encourage me to write. I hope my readers will support me and also join in this contest. I am not a student of literature and so I do not consider myself an expert in poetry. It is the judge who will decide.

Please join the Steemit school now
Discord link : https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P
Become part of the movement today

©sayee

image source - sayee

Sort:  

Today your post is very good. I like it.

Change cannot be stopped, nor do we want it to stop. Best not resist too much. But it is important to develop preference and maintain compassion. There are still mangoes to be plucked and with time we may find they line our city streets:) Give each moment love. Good things are coming:)

A thoughtful write, Sayee:)

positive energy, thanks dear

Life is change. We cannot prevent it. We can only hope to be part of the engines of positive change and to greet the world with an open mind and heart and kindness… and maybe plant our own mangoes.

thanks a lot for the positive comment

Nostalgia. Thank you for taking me though my childhood journey. Everything came as a flashback. 🙏

welcome dear, I too miss those days

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92