self-pity - day 31 of the Steemit school 100 day poetry challenge

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Self-pity

the ego is bloated
the pride injured
when one word hurts most
self-pity appears

stop the self-pity
stop whining
start to think independently
earn respect on your own

you are important
but the ego is to be ignored
learn to respect others
and they shall respect you also

empty pride is in vain
when a fool's paradise is crushed again and again

Note - I have noted many a young one succumbing to self-pity and ruining precious time and life. No one will offer riches on a silver plate. Each one has to earn respect and riches through hard work, dedication, self-discipline, and humility.

monday food 014.jpg
image is a picture of a book by SriM, an interesting read

@d-pend contest

entry for Announcing the Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge! (Total Prize Fund 2000 SBD)

I write poems to express myself. I started writing at the age of twelve or so and some of my poems were published in magazines for children, a time when print still ruled the world. The internet and the blogging world has helped me write poems. Most of it was as I wrote earlier, to express myself and my thoughts. I have also been a ghostwriter.
Steemit has helped me write with freedom and also earned me very good friends who encourage me to write. I hope my readers will support me and also join in this contest. I am not a student of literature and so I do not consider myself an expert in poetry. It is the judge who will decide.

Please join the Steemit school now
Discord link : https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P
Become part of the movement today

©sayee

image source - top image by sayee's friend and the latter one by sayee

Sort:  

I like the message of this poem and was thinking the other day: What do self-indulgence, self-pity and self-righteousness have in common? Self!

Once we move away from that slavery and into the realm of the Spirit, healing, wholeness and liberation begin... _/|\_

A powerful and important message that needs to be heard by all!

Great writing as always my friend... thanks for sharing this wisdom.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sayee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91