You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Trap of the Honeymoon Stage

in #life6 years ago

I have a theory regarding the "honeymoon stage" that I'd like your take on, Colin:

I believe that we, as humans, have evolved to experience this stage in a relationship as a direct consequence of the natural gestation time for a baby.

Over 100's of thousands of years, those humans who had this predilection for 'maintaining' a honeymoon phase would still be together when their child was born. The maternal and paternal oxytocin release for their child kicked in, the parents raised their new family together (with their child, and future children) and the odds for child survival thus subsequently rose.

Over time, this 'honeymoon' trait of mutual affection (which lasts about a year, from my own, anecdotal experience) was evolutionarily favored for survival, leading to humans today experiencing this honeymoon bliss.

No child between the two of you after 11 months of enthusiastic intercourse? You part ways, 'fall in love' with someone else, and the process repeats itself with a new partner.

This theory pre-supposes a great deal with regard to human culture hundreds of thousands of years ago, and I haven't done more than play with the idea over the last couple of years.

Thoughts?

Sort:  

That's a very interesting theory on the honeymoon stage, one I've honestly never considered. But your theory makes sense in an evolutionary sense, as it would be a huge motivation to stay together and procreate prior to the stage wearing off.

I'm far from an evolutionary biologist, so I'd be completely spitballing in regards to this concept, but you might not be far from the mark.

Was there a source that inspired this theory?

Intelligent dialogue is such a gift and a blessing; I sincerely enjoy your posts and our thought sharing.

To answer your question regarding a source for this theory: Introspection on my own behavior in relationships that have lasted around a year. Purely anecdotal to my own subjective experience; a rational examination as to whether my behavior is perhaps biologically axiomatic, in a Darwinian sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89