PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES NEEDS YOUR HELP

in #life6 years ago

Spokane Washington's Best Kept Secret ~~~ Spokane Center for Independent Living

What is Independent Living you may ask?

Well... Independent Living (IL) is based on the philosophy that people with disabilities have skills, determination, specific abilities, creativity and a passion for life. However, many are unable to participate fully due to attitudinal or/and physical barriers in our community. IL is a “way of living” for people with disabilities who live in our communities where many barriers remain.

Bill for blog.JPG

William D. Kane
Executive Director
Spokane Center for Independent Living

Spokane Center for Independent Living requires that over 50% of staff has to have a disability, and over 50% of our board of directors also has to have a disability. We have people with disabilities helping others who have a disability.

Independent Living becomes a reality for people with disabilities through the support offered by Centers for Independent Living (CILs) throughout the State of Washington. SCIL is one of four CILs in the State of Washington. Other CILs are in Ellensburg, Lakewood (Tacoma) with a satellite office in Bellingham, and Seattle with a satellite office in Bellevue. Our CILs collaborate closely with the State of Washington Independent Living Council (WA- SILC).
Spokane Center for Independent Living (SCIL) is a consumer- driven, 501 (c ) (3) non-profit Independent Living Center providing services to meet the needs of the Inland Northwest disability community. SCIL provides a comprehensive range of services designed to educate, assist, empower and provide resources to the cross- disability community. The goal is to empower them to make their own decisions to live independently.

SERVICES OFFERED:

We provide Advocacy, Independent Living Skills Training, Information and Referral (referral to other community resources), Peer Support, Youth and Adult transition, Assistive Technology & Housing search assistance.
That is what we do, and may I say, we do it very well! We currently have excellent staff that make it all happen.

AREAS SERVED:

SCIL provides services to the following counties: Spokane, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Whitman, Stevens, and Asotin counties (all in the state of Washington).

CURRENT PROBLEMS WE FACE:

We have been severely hampered because of unqualified individuals that were suppose to be managing the organization. We recently lost one of our major funding contracts, which was not renewed because of past mis-management. The loss of this income source makes it difficult for us to provide all the services to those who need our assistance. We continue to struggle to provide services to those in need, even with the knowledge that we will not get paid.

Since taking over as director I have been able to bring in an entirely new board of directors, and most of the staff have been replaced. All of them are dedicated to help turn around the organization.

I am asking for your help in spreading the word about SCIL; and assist us in re-establishing ourselves as the focal point of the disability movement in Eastern Washington. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time and consideration. In the event anyone has any questions please feel free to ask.

William D. Kane
Executive Director
Spokane Center for Independent Living
8817 E. Mission Avenue #106
Spokane Valley, WA 9921

For purposes of full disclosure @r2cornell assists us with our steemit blog.

You can visit us on FaceBook @
https://www.facebook.com/Spokane-Center-for-Independent-Living-SCIL-610127335818492/

FOLLOW ~ UPVOTE ~ RESTEEM @scilwa

U5drCE97z5vU9L2MnPZKjQBeCfLEMR5_1680x8400.png

We also accept donations:

BTC: 1AzJd2hKKTqSvQMpb28QLF7B8mxV4ubByB
LTC: LVqAevy4vCb5uM681a95wyKaZPx88x2czc
ETH: 0xdB116E11d518B5B9B2f5390f31D6357511590Af6
DASH: XngWgVVoudktkTRW1zi8AQc5ZtBns24ikn

Sort:  

I have worked part time for SCIL since 2015. I was brought in by previous management to help turnaround the Youth & Young Adult program. I have run my own business for over 30 years so I have an understanding of how to manage a company or organization. After some months had elapsed I realized that the old management was not doing their job. I was thinking on leaving when our current director came on board.

I decided to stay a little longer to see if Bill Kane could rebuild the entire organization. As I observed the changes that he was trying to make I realized there may be hope. Things went from bad to worse because of mismanagement and ineptness of previous directors. Even though we had a lot of staff turnover (which was a good thing), we were blamed for the mistakes of the previous two directors.

Being blamed for past mistakes led to losing 2 contracts from our main funding source. We still provide services to all who walk through our doors, even though we do not have the contracts anymore.

I personally put in hours and not turn in all my time to help keep the agency functioning. I am aware of the fact that our current director uses his own money to pay for things that normally would be covered by the agency.

I have been impressed by our director actions, the new board of directors, and all the new staff who seem very dedicated to working with the disabled, disadvantaged, and many homeless people. Yes, in USA we do have a large homeless population, including the Spokane, Washington area.

Local, state, and national governments seem more inclined to try to hide the problem that to try and eliminate it. We even have Veterans who served in the military that are homeless. Whereas the government tries to cut monies that would help the homeless, SCIl and other local agencies (not-for-profit) do everything they can to help.

I hope that you the reader will help out SCIl by up-voting, commenting and resteeming. No matter how low your steem power every penny SCIL can earn will help us build steem power to eventually earn enough funds to help support our critical services. When we put together this post I also added some keys for donations. I did not include Steem because you should already know how to use your wallet to make donations. I know many do not have resources to make donations because they are trying to earn a living, but your upvotes, comments, and resteems go along way to aid in our cause.

It may look like SCIL has a lot of SP, but that came from my donations. I have other areas in the crypto-sphere that has also help raised funds and were needed from time to time.

Finally, please remember this post is for SCIL and not myself. I plan on donating my earnings and matching what SCIL raises. For some who are inclined to spam please do not do this. I will not upvote if it is spam.

Thank you for reading my long winded discussion. I am a strong believer in the Independent Living Movement. I have not told too many here on steemit but I too have a number of disabilities. There was no assistance when I was in high school and when I finished. I had to figure things out for myself. Not everyone is able to do this, so I know first hand the importance of the services offered through SCIL.

great your comment

@r2cornell great job

Thank you.

Your mind is so high @r2cornell

thanks dear @r2cornell

welcome sir
DQmRp6b1hDQBdG1pQwxqKmS1nRCjLm7GNxWQQmGmvWYri9B_1680x8400.png

Just mind blowing comment.

welcome my dear friend.

you are doing really great work sir... god bless you...👍

Thank you @sushovon002

It's my pleasure sir that you reply me... you help me to resteem my art few month ago... i am really thankful to you for that sir @r2cornell. 😊

Oh my god ,,,, really I'm glad on @r2cornell comments. That's call writing power.

Thank you @rakibmatubbar!

You are always welcome my dear Sir @r2cornell
Thanks again for your cordial support & hope it'll be continue for all smteemian's.

Your very good boy mr @r2cornell

A person with disabilities is a person with an advantage.
a disabled person is a person who has an advantage that is not owned by a person who is not disabled.
continue to struggle @scilwa
I support you .

Hey sir @r2cornell, I'm astonished on your powerful suggestion. I appreciate your comment. Good job sir. Just keep it.
I respect you & salute you .

Thank you @rakibmatubbar!

I was astonished to find your company happily delegates SP to jew-haters, @r2cornell. You know? The one who wrote the following anti-semitic garbage:

https://steemit.com/politics/@mathiasian/brendan-fraser-was-blacklisted-after-being-sexually-assaulted-by-homosexual-movie-producer-philip-berk

I am impressed with your words and policies you @scilwa
A beautiful friendship is when we give do not expect a reply. There was laughter in sadness.
Share the goodness

Thank you - much respect.

I used to work with people with disabilities. For that, you're a hero, I'd say, @scilwa.

Supporting neo-nazis by delegating to them is villainous, on the other hand, I would say. Care to do anything about it? Or do you like bad publicity?

Remember, he did write the following jew-hating trash: https://steemit.com/politics/@mathiasian/brendan-fraser-was-blacklisted-after-being-sexually-assaulted-by-homosexual-movie-producer-philip-berk

Spirit @scilwa

I am and all people support you (y)

Spirit @scilwa
Best regard @r2cornell

Oh my god ,,,, really I'm glad on @r2cornell comments. That's call writing power

wow sir
you are doing really great work.

Thank you

thanks for your comments

thank you

Release the Kraken! You got a 16.21% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @scilwa!

Yes i gree. This post very good. let's share together for our friends. let's help. so he can be with us. His smile is our shared happiness. let's care about disability
Regaard form indonesia
@muhammadabi

Thank you sir!

Thank u to brother. I am very happy to day. @scilwa.1520653703632480478429.jpg

I respect your exceptional thinking... Really you made my day...
Thanks for the great work.
I'm always with you
Keep it up my rock

Thank you for visiting

You are welcome Sir.
I'll be continues visite your every blog.
Now I'm waiting for your next update post.

we are always with you. wish you best of luck. sir @r2cornell with us so don't worry.

Amazing writing sir... i appreciate your effirt..👍

Thank you for visiting

your most welcome :)

I am so happy to see the cause on steemit. I read some information about scilwa by online research. I am really happy to see you are doing fundraising here.

. I am happy that @r2cornell is involved with the cause to. I am not a professional fundraiser, but I am really happy for all support I receive. Say hello to all there from me. I wish best of luck. Resteemed for my generious followers.

@r2cornell has told me about your efforts, we applaud you - thanks

Thank you @azizbd! Thank you for your resteem, but more importantly your kind words.

My grandfather @r2cornell works part time for @scilwa. He has a lot of positive things to say about the work that is done here. For myself I work with the disabled in Idaho. I highly support the work that @scilwa does.

I will upvote and resteem for you!

Thank you for your support granddaughter!

Sorry if I interrupt your convenience, visit my blog.
I believe sir @r2cornell are a good person who will help schoolchildren and starving children,

Last year my friend and I created a community of Charity For Children of the World Generation, which is engaged in social education for children and hunger in order to keep learning for the future,

I have posted on my blog about the Charity For Childrens Community of the World's Generation community. In that post I mentioned your name as my motivator in steemit.

If you do not mind, you can appreciate my block for suggestions and feedback so that the Charitable Generation community for Children of the World Generation can continue to help the children.

hopefully you can judge my writing and advise me to keep walking and more children saved from ignorance.

Thank you...

https://www.steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dexwan/charity-for-childrens-of-the-world-s-generation-1-child-saved-1-country-rescued-9acaa29927bf9

Thank you!

Great man

I respect your exceptional thinking... Really you made my day...
Thanks for the great work.
I'm always with you
Keep it up my rock

Most welcome

Respect and love for you sir, you are a great man. always works for humanity.

Thank you @msena for your kind words.

Nice your support mr @r2cornell .

Good luck @msena

Good luck in your fundraising efforts. I do not have much steem power but I will upvote what I can.

Thank you for your help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77