More Snow! More Snow Removal... Comedy Open Mic Round #40

in #life5 years ago

Ahh, it's another lovely snowy day at the Thompson house. I got some exercise today removing more snow from my driveway and decks. This time of year, the snow removal is fun and brings a smile to my face.

PSX_20181201_151347.jpg

We got nearly a foot of fresh snow overnight. A decent amount but a manageable amount. And fortunately, my snow blower makes the clean up fairly easy. It always starts right up and is trouble free.

20181201_112827.jpg

While clearing the snow, the clouds cleared out for a bit, the fresh white snow always looks so beautiful with a nice blue sky background.

20181201_114534.jpg

Icicles have started forming, adding to the winter wonderland look.

20181201_130223.jpg

The neighbors hire a snow removal service, their snow blower is much bigger and more powerful, and the driver gets to sit inside it, all nice and warm. Sometimes, I wish I had a service for my driveway but I don't have a garage so it really wouldn't work for me since they would not be able to blow the snow around our vehicles. Also, I'd miss out on all that exercise all winter long...

20181201_114103.jpg

Oops, I hit the edge of the driveway with the snow blower auger and I broke a sheer pin. It's ok, I make sure to have back up bolts and pins on hand because, well, this happens often. Now the snow blowing fun has become more of a chore as I get to wrench away on icy cold sharp metal. It's too hard to replace the bolt with gloves on so bare handed and cold is the way to get 'er done. All fixed up, I finished up clearing the driveway so I started on shoveling duties, clearing snow off deck rails and areas around the house the snow blower couldn't get.

20181201_120346.jpg

Did I say I was finished snow blowing??? Nope, the snow plow came by again and pushed snow into my driveway. It doesn't look like much but I have to clear it or when we drive over it, the snow becomes ice and it will build up creating a big ice bump after a few storms. No fun, so I started up the snow blower again and cleared it. Once I was done, it was back to shoveling...

20181201_130410.jpg

AGAIN!? The snow plow came by again, pushing snow into my driveway again! I had just gone inside to warm up, thinking I was all done, but nope. Back outside to snow blow the driveway a third time... I was no longer having fun at this point and I was not appreciating the extra exercise. The snowy season has just begun, and it's already getting old.

Funny thing is, on my last DTube video I posted about snow blowing, @bil.prag commented on it, where he shared this video/story below. It's about a guy who moved to Canada where he blissfully enjoyed the snow when he first moved there. But the constant piles of snow left by the snow plow started to drive him crazy. My experience today left me feeling the same. This will happen many times each winter for me. It's worth it, I love where I live, but those snow plow drivers can definitely start to drive me bonkers.

I hope you all enjoyed this little story about my day. Thanks @brandt for nominating me for @comedyopenmic. I'm not sure how funny this was, but I was laughing like a mad man while clearing the driveway the third time so I thought it might work. Now I nominate @bil.prag to participate in #comedyopenmic since the video he shared with me is pretty much the story of my life, haha! I also nominate @daveonarrival since I bet he has some pretty funny stories with all the traveling he does. The rules are here.



Thank you for reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Hi scottshots,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Thank you @serkagan! And the snow season has just started... Much more to come. Cheers!

Let it snow song playing? raindrops keep falling here.
Sure is pretty when there is blue with the white stuff!
Looks real beautiful there @scottshots!

Haha! Yeah, the snow is a good thing but clearing it gets old fast. Beautiful indeed. The sky is nice a blue today and there's still snow in the trees, looking like a postcard out. Hopefully you'll get snow soon, cheers!

lol, was this an ad for Honda snowblowers? :)

Haha! It was right up until I broke a sheer pin. I didn't write about all the cussing while changing it... Thanks for the nomination, I don't usually consider my posts funny so this was a fun challenge.

You totally should have written about the cussing. :) You have moments of humor in your posts and videos, so I figured I'd nominate you. It's a fun little contest.

Oh, dang it. Next time...
Yup, that was fun!

So beautiful!! Your house looks like this fantastic little cottage! But I can't believe how many times you had to clear the driveway! hahaha

Yup, it's pretty incredible up here this time of year. But tent camping is rough, lol. The plow has come by twice already today.... Hahaha!

so it is a true story :D
now i am on the spot for @comedyopenmic, need to do some research on it :D

SO TRUE! Hahaha! And the plow has come by again twice today...
Good luck with the comedyopenmic! Thanks for the inspiration for this post.

:D
when i read comedyopenmic i thought about stand up and i would never post anything :D

I think it just needs to be a funny post of any kind but this is my first time entering so I'm not sure...

I have often thought of becoming a snow plow driver just to mess with people. I think it would be super fun.

Haha! Other than working all night, it does look kind of fun...

In Estonia, we got our first heavy load of snow too yesterday but not quite the amount you have there.
Lol I can imagine the frustration of cleaning up all over again because of these snow plows :D

Oh man, it gets old fast. And the plow has already come by twice this morning...
That's cool you got snow too, enjoy the winter wonder land!

Holy cow! It's a winter wonderland there. Good to see you're still smiling!

It is indeed! Haha! Yup, we'll see if I'm still smiling a month from now... Cheers!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 126 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Haha! Thank you trufflepig bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99