A Day in the Life of a "Retired" Homemaker

in #life6 years ago (edited)

20180130_135228_1.jpg

photo taken on my Android phone

Baking bread and catching up on various odds and ends around the house: that's what I had in mind to do today. And I did, eventually. Sort of. I started the bread-making process as soon as I got up, because I make six loaves at a time and it takes a few hours what with all the raising time. And then the texting started! Some good friends of mine were traveling home from Wyoming when their older motorhome broke down near Livingston, MT. They wondered if I knew anybody over there; they really needed to get to a grocery store and perhaps a laundromat. It just so happens that 37 years ago I lived for a few months in a tiny town a few miles from there, but I've not kept in touch with any of the locals over the years. Most of them are probably dead by now, anyway.

But my daughter knows lots of people, so I texted her. Sure enough, she knew someone in that area! I texted him, and eventually passed his phone number on to my friends, because he said he could help them out! Yay!! I was happy to be a part of their solution, but it did take a bit of time. (I don't text quickly.) Then I remembered I needed to cancel an appointment, make a new appointment, and leave a message at our usual clinic. Those didn't take long, really. But in the midst of all the above, I got a call from yet another clinic; my husband needs to go see an orthopedic surgeon about his shoulder.

That reminded me I needed to look online and find out if the recommended surgeon is in-network with our insurance. I tried to log in to the insurance website, but it insisted I set up a new password. Then it wanted me to set up answers to security questions. Next, it sent me an email with a link so I could finally finish registering on their website. Alas, the link led me to a page stating something was wrong with my password. I tried again with the new password, got another email, and ended up back on the same error page. After going around and around three or four times, I gave up and called the number for tech help.

Oh, it was my lucky day! The woman who answered the phone was Ms. Don't Giveadamn, aka Ms. Gonna Ask You Questions With No Answer. Like, "Who is your husband's employer?" "He's not employed; he is retired." "Well, who was his employer?" I gave her the answer. The company he worked for goes by initials. She should have been familiar with it. She didn't get it. I told her again. I even gave her the words the initials stand for, even though nobody uses them. She finally got it figured out.

I don't know whether she did anything on her end or not, but the next time I tried to log in, it worked. Yay! Perhaps Ms. Knows How to Glare at a Screen accomplished something useful after all. And yes, the doctor is in-network.

While I was on the phone with Ms. Lots of Dead Silence, my husband came huffing and puffing up the hall, demanding that I call his cell phone because he couldn't find it. Helloooo!!!! I was on my cell phone, making a pesky business call, and not about to hang up in the middle of it!! He disappeared. When I got done with Ms. No Sense Of Humor Whatsoever, I called his cell phone. Of course, he had already found it.

With hubby out the door to burn a brush pile, and son out the door to work, the house became very peaceful. And the day was not yet over; perhaps I could still get to the odds and ends! My first such task was to lay out the cellular shade from our living room window and try to determine how to repair the broken string. I have repaired broken strings on Roman shades, but this was beyond me. Two phone calls later, I know where I can take it to let somebody else fix it! There are occasions when it is good to know when to call in an expert, and this was one such time.

Finally I got around to remodeling my fairy house! I will save the details for another post; this one has become rather lengthy.

The day was topped off by a homeowners' association semi-annual meeting. It was the customary circus: not enough people to make a quorum, so nothing could be accomplished. There were the usual folks looking for things to argue about, and one nit-picker who really ought to be on the board since he has such an eye for detail. But he "doesn't have time." Nobody has time for that, but a few people choose to MAKE time. The most exciting part of the meeting was when one of the homeowners passed out and slid off his chair onto the floor. He came to before long, and somebody took him home. Poor chap!

And how was your day?!

Sort:  

Congratulations @scribblingramma! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh my! That was quite a day! I can't believe someone passed out! Yikes!

That was really a peculiar incident!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01