Project Report Part One: Cleaning out the Shed

in #life6 years ago

To my amazement, it has been ten days since I wrote a post for Steemit! I've been very busy with projects around our place; too busy to even stop and write about them. The first project I launched into was cleaning out our storage shed. I hired two ambitious and capable young people, offspring of @generikat, to help me tackle this overwhelming task.

20180524_100838_1.jpg

We hauled everything out of the shed, and then we swept, vacuumed, scrubbed and painted all the shelves and the floor. In addition to being a place to store things, this shed is where we put our cats at night for the past 20 years, in an attempt to prevent them from becoming snacks for the local coyotes, owls, raccoons, etc. Several cats who refused to go in at night eventually disappeared. Three of them lived to be 16-18 years old, however, and developed some litter box issues, to put it politely. So the shed was full of cat hair, ill-placed "deposits", and some cardboard boxes that had been sprayed on. We even found a couple of dead mice, and plenty of mouse droppings. Yes, it was disgusting!

Here are my helpers, scrubbing away at the shelves:

20180524_112539_2.jpg

20180524_112546_3.jpg

After I had taken my helpers home, I returned to the task of sorting stuff. It was definitely NOT all going back into that shed! Soon I had piles started: give away, throw away, maybe sell, ask my kids if they want, and keep. It began to look more manageable:

20180524_174640_2.jpg

By the next day, it was looking much better:

20180525_115600_3.jpg

By the fifth day, everything was put away except for a small pile of donate/give items under a tarp. And there are 4 boxes or totes that I need to go through and figure out what to do with. They are still on my porch, in the way, but I haven't had time to deal with them due to painting, gardening, and costumes, which will be the subject three subsequent posts.

(Okay, @freedomtowrite, this is the beginning of my progress reports! Stay tuned!)

Sort:  

Thanks for the update! I can't believe it's been 10 days already! It looks like you've been working really hard.

Yes, I have been! And there's more....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66