Inside the life of a Retail Auditor ( It Sucks! )steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

have you ever wondered how stock takes are done? who does them ? when and how? For the past 5 years I worked as an auditor, visited different countries and cities across the UK. Even though I hated the job, being a competitive person, I became one of the best auditors in my company which unfortunately didn't reflect in they pay I got. I left my job this month to focus on different cryptocurrency related opportunities and be a full time artist.

The first step in getting jobs as an auditor is sending my availability to my employer and being assigned to different teams and jobs for the week.
We work in all kinds of stores such as Sainsbury's, Morrisons, Tesco, Waitrose, Debenhams, M&S,Ralph Lauren, Gap, New look, Forever 21, Matalan, Ann Summers, Victoria Secret, Liberty, Pharmacies, Warehouses, and many more.
It was interesting seeing all the different backrooms, seeing behind the scenes of all these places. Sometimes if you see a restaurant's kitchen, it might kill your appetite. This is the case with Grocery shops too. I've seen rat infested backrooms and cans of coke drenched with shampoo from broken bottles. Most of the Poundworld/Poundland stores are so disgusting I wouldn't eat or drink anything from there if it was free.

IMG_0604.png

These are the machines we use to scan the products:

IMG_0541.jpg

DSC_0004.jpg

A few examples of the stock I had to count, no matter the impossible conditions they were held in, every single barcode has to be scanned individually, with the exception of grocery:

24740570_10208236619191511_508434517_n.jpg

DSC_0095.jpg

DSC_0019.jpg

DSC_0018.jpg

Ann Summers was one of the interesting stores to count, because of the sex toys, most of the girls doing this job in the Northwest UK are muslim so they would avoid working in these stores, here are a few pictures:

IMG_1102.jpg

IMG_1104.jpg

IMG_1105.jpg

You never know how many hours a job would take so you have to be prepared to go for over 24 h in some cases or have only 3-4 h before the next job starts. Irregular hours, unpaid hours of travel and sleeping whenever you get time, mostly during the day. Sometimes, energy drinks were the only thing keeping me awake. I am so happy I got away from this job.

IMG_1073.jpg

Sort:  

Ann Summers Lol

Over 100 upvotes and just one comment, hm...

Great post, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78