Sunday Dinner With My Japanese Pastor @senseicat

in #life6 years ago

Once a month, I attend a service at my pastor's home and after service, we eat a meal that she has lovingly planned and prepared.

Today, when I arrived, I immediately noticed that there was only 2 place settings at the table and wondered where the rest of the group happened to be.

She said, she would like us to order Chinese food which is unusual. We tried to phone in an order and was told that they stopped delivering because they close earlier on Sundays.

Then, she suggested we go out to eat at a restaurant. We realized that we missed happy hour appetizer specials.

I perused through the menu and I decided to order a vegan dish and she immediately rebuffed my order and changed it to the Tiger shrimp.

tiger shrimp.jpg

She accused me of being vegan and told me that her nutritionist from the cancer center believes that everyone should eat 100 grams of meat from protein at each meal for good health.

I explained that I was secretly experimenting with being a vegan and had been watching Netflix documentaries. One documentary contradicts the next and so on and so forth.

Is anyone else confused about what we should be eating these days?

Sort:  

Yes! It seems that anything and everything is either good or bad for you! How are we supposed to wade through all this stuff? I have been dairy free for the past 3 years and gluten free up until the last few week due to side effects of eating those foods. It wasn't pleasant!! I've been experimenting to see how that turns out. So far, not entirely sure that I want to keep the gluten. Anyway, experimentation with food really seems to be the best way to tell what works for the individual. Keep experimenting!

I have been experimenting for years to figure out what seems to be the best for me so at this rate, it will be a couple of more decades before I get it just right! Though, I added raw kefir and really enjoyed it yesterday.

There is a product on the market called Daiya. They are vegan based dairy free products. They have the most awesome tasting "cheese" I've ever tasted! It even melts like real cheese! They have "yogurt" which is tasty and "cream cheese" which I've not tried yet. I am also a coffee-holic, and could never really find any coconut milk that would make a delicious mocha. So......I found a product called Ripple (no, not the bottled wine from the '70's LOL), but a non dairy product produced from pea protein. It's soooo creamy and makes the most awesome hot mocha's! I was so happy to find that.

I just discovered that brand yesterday at a specialty market and got the cheese and the yogurt. I thought both were pretty amazing. Ohhh, we both have to try to cream cheese and let each other know the results.

My husband's birthday is Tuesday and he has requested a cheesecake. So I suspect I might could let you know how that turns out with their cream cheese. :)

Good evening!! I just wanted to update you about the vegan cream cheese; I ended up not purchasing it after all, so I have no idea what it tastes like. If I do, I'll update you, and please, if you end up purchasing some, let me know what you think. :)

Nutritional science changes too often and lacks firm basis

맛있어 보이네요^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99