In Memory of a Very Talented Soul: A Family Needs Your Help in Their Time of Grieving

in #life5 years ago (edited)

11741053_610089739094187_3099609093465964992_o.jpg

The Rarity of True Talent and Musical Presence

Today I am deeply saddened to find out that one of my childhood heroes has recently passed away. Many may think with me being a life long musician that a hero to me would be someone that I watched on tv or bought tons of CD's at the local music shop. In my case, actually there was an awesome crowd of musicians locally that I got to know in my formative high school years that had a band called "Skywater".

I actually met these guys through my friend Tami, and immediately I was super impressed by their guitarist Steve Cole who I actually got to jam with on a couple occasions. Steve was a very humble guy back in those days, blew everyone away with talent but was never the type to boast or express himself in a manner to look down on anyone around him. He freely shared his experience and wisdom through his musical expression in a way I can't say I seen in most people with such natural abilities.

We come from a small town here in Florida, and in many ways this town needed a band like "Skywater" in its minuscule borders. This band spoke for a lot of young people like myself back in the day and really took up the torch to create a sound that actively fit the era of the 90's when we ruled our own journey's and paths. It was a great time to be alive and be around people like Steve Cole, Rob Pittenger, Jason Broome, Jimi Hiley, and Brent Page was actually a blessing to me. I understand these are not names you probably are aware of but I honestly think on some level everyone could relate to their talent and sound they have created for our town and the people that reside within it.

During these formidable years, I was the younger one of the group but whenever I was around these guys I was always treated like a peer and a friend. Steve himself would give great guidance and try to ensure I was not straying down paths that would cause issues for my own growth and future. Best of all, he would take time now and then to encourage me to keep at my own guitar playing, to keep the dreams alive which I have always kept with me throughout my own adulthood. This I will never forget, and why today I felt I should share his story and his band's music.

11709622_884313811662407_1386483512267496326_n.jpg

Skywater (left to the right) Steve Cole, Rob Pittenger, Jason Broome, and Jimi Hiley

A Heartbreaking and Unexpected Passing

Today I happened to do a rare thing, I actually ventured into my Facebook for the first time in a very very long time. While skimming recaps of posts, I happened to find my buddy Brent Page's recent post about the passing of Steve Cole. Apparently from what I have gathered he was stricken with an aneurysm a few days ago. This was such a hard thing to read today, but more so finding out that his family is struggling to pay for his upcoming funeral due to no insurance available due to the suddenness of his passing.

Steve was definitely a family man, I honestly seen a lot of his life as an adult through social media and noticed how strongly he put family first. I know Steve would have wanted to be remembered in a very joyous way. He lived completely for family, friends and dedicated all his life to his dreams and musical abilities. Sadly he was cut short on his journey but I can proudly say, if anyone I knew made it with their music, Steve and his bandmates definitely lived it and breathed it where many would have fallen short.

1403566_1383565671891169_449496376_o.jpg

Today I wanted to help in any way I could to ease this burden that his family has with acquiring funds so they can get over the current issue of finances and begin their grieving process which is more important than anything right now. So I decided to share this with everyone I knew, and also share with you the families GoFundMe to help with their current predicament. If you or anyone you know can find it in your hearts to help them out, you can go to their official page for donations here:

https://www.gofundme.com/steve-cole-burial-fund

I have also setup a Bitcoin donation address to help. I will convert any helping donations sent to this address and convert them over to the GoFundMe. You can donate in BTC here:

1D7D3yNgc4Pok5RJjXJfNUNhbh1Bd6EjoU

BitcoinAddr1.png

218895_145967842138455_242773_o.jpg

I Hope Many Had Guys Like Steve to Look Up To

In closing, I want to leave Steve's family my complete and sincere condolences, this was such a sudden event that I know right now it's very hard on all of you. You have the support from many of us in this community, we are a very tight family in this town and I know a lot of us will carry Steve's memory with us because he helped form many great memories for so many individuals.

For our community, I know a lot of us grew up with these guys and their constant flurry of music...his passing has an effect on a lot of people due to how much he took time to be apart of all our lives. I just hope you remember to play some Skywater in remembrance of Steve, his hard work on those recordings will always live on and we should make sure we pass their efforts to the world whenever possible.

I would like to end this with some work by my hero and his friends, may this reach all of us in positive remembrance of Steve Cole and his endless passion for music:

~sflaherty

If you do donate, please put a comment on this post so I can personally thank you from the family. Your help is deeply appreciated.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for that @the-bitcoin-dood ....man I know you would have really liked this guy, really talented and genuine person. One of the few I was really lucky to meet growing up. I really hate this for his family right now, sad when the good ones are taken so early

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98