You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pay It Forward Post: Our friend @sflaherty here could use some help with his dad's health issues/bills. It is a real struggle.

in #life7 years ago

Thank you so much for this help @barrydutton

It has been an honor to have such amazing support from you to help guide me on how to do my best for Steemit and my family can't thank you enough for looking out for us like this. True friend, thank you so much

Sort:  

You are most welcome my friend. I have had help here, and in life and help where I can. That is the beauty of #Steemit and #Community.

@sflaherty
thats so sad i cant imagine the constant torture he must be enduring :(
sorry i dont have the means to assist directly,
ive voted and resteemed

hope you find the help you need and your father sees a speedy recovery :)

We try to keep it positive, my dad is a fighter and we try to just keep him motivated to get through this moment. Its just taking on financial issues bad for them right now and sadly I am just now getting my head above debt so its hard to watch without having a lot of power to sway the issues to a better place for them. In the end I believe surgery will give him back his quality of life and will get through this but we are still in limbo waiting to know if and when, healthcare in the USA is horrible in these areas, not their to help but more to collect as much money as they can to help...sad

sounds like a very tough situation,if the health issues werent bad enough i always thought that veterans got pensions and healthcare,so ridiculous
good luck with the fundraising and send your father my well wishes

Now a days, they do get pension but guys like my dad who were drafted into the Vietnam war...they get nothing but the money compensated to them during their time there, that was literally chump change by what my dad tells me. Oh he gets a little healthcare through the VA hospital that covers checkups and prescriptions but the surgery side is half covered, if even that. They don't treat these guys that they forced into war to well here, least not the guys that got sent to Vietnam. Unless they signed up to be there its pretty much a fend for yourself situation. This is why all over the USA we have Vietnam Vets in wheelchairs homeless asking for help, very common sadly with those poor souls

it is a travesty that someone who puts there life at risk in defense of others to be neglected so when in need but im sure banks direly need that few extra trillion while people go without homes food and healthcare, such a joke

Well said. Force people to fight the wars which is big business, government and banks profit, the footsoldiers and vets and rest of the people pay the freight...

Thanks for the comments and support today on this!

Wow man, sorry to hear the news. Resteemed this!

Thanks for that help. Its been kind of a side ordeal I keep to myself to keep myself going with the project and our own situation at the house. Sadly though my parents are struggling bad financially due to this, my father had to take forced retirement, mom is out of work so its kind of been hard to watch being a little powerless myself to really dive in and help. My dad's health is touchy right now, surgery should get the stomach aneurysm in check but that healthcare system for Vets here is just dragging it on and I think all due to insurance. My dad kind of keeps us in the dark about that side but he is going for a check up by the end of the month and I believe they will set the date to take care of this from there. I try to balance a lot right now, try not to burden people with everything going on but Barry here has been a true buddy and I opened up to him a lot about this, amazes me how good natured he was to to help us like this. I appreciate your help with everything we are doing on SBC and helping on this to keep my family going, means the world to us buddy @robertdurst10

Thanks for the comments and support today on this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67626.56
ETH 3806.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76