The shadow of My Words.

in #life6 years ago

The Shadow of My Words.

enter image description hereImage credit

The scars parents leave when raising children is there to stay. I grew up in a loving family with a mom and dad who loved my brother and me a lot but sadly, my loving dad was an ‘alcoholic’. He did not drink every night, only once every six months but his liver could not handle alcohol and unfortunately for him, did not knew when to stop.

When soused, he became aggressive and everyone stayed out of his way. He broke windows and, physically turned aggressive towards you if you dared to say something he did not like. My mom and everyone knew to stay out of his way of the many memories that lurched on to me up to today. The next day my dad would be apologetic and blamed it on alcohol and an addiction, which he cannot control.

He worked hard to support his family and give them what they need. His family meant the world to him and it was never his plan to cause them any pain. Scars, left by a parent, were not always done on purpose.
Today, I am also a parent and try my best not to hurt or disappoint my children. I understood my husband’s problem much better because my dad was also an alcoholic. He never got aggressive but became sick and depressed. When I realised his drinking a lot, we would end up fighting. My boy was an extremely sensitive child, could not deal with it. We went from doctor to doctor and nothing helped. My kids adored him and he did a lot for his kids, drinking was his only weakness. This year January, he gave his life to God and stopped drinking completely.
The house became much calmer; there is more joy and happiness. We thank God every day for the miracle he performed on my husband.
The only thing a parent can do is to love their children. You can never make up for your mistakes but can try never to make the same mistake again.

enter image description hereImage credit

Sort:  

Touching story. I'm glad your husband has changed and you are living well. Keep the faith:)

Congratulations @shadowofmywords, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3013 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $792.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62