Failure Can Be An Adventure

in #life5 years ago


“If you don’t make mistakes, you aren’t really trying.” — Coleman Hawkins

“Do it right the first time”

How many times I heard that drilled into me as I grew up.

My mother believed that it was the correct use of time to do a job right the first time. Not succeeding the first time was failure.

She expected when she gave instructions, they were to complied with exactly. If the outcome was not what she expected, then it was my failure. I failed to follow her instructions. No matter how careful I may have been or how exact I was.

The number one rule that had to be always remembered, mother was not always right, but she was never ever wrong. No matter what.

She instilled a strong sense of shame about failure. It wasn't about only the task, it was about my ability, or lack thereof.

Doing a job over was usually made under a quite literal threat of physcial harm if not done fast enough. Best read her mind to know her wishes, spoken and unspoken.

Do not argue, do not suggest. You will be wrong.

Took me a very long time to start to shake off the sense of impending doom when something I was doing didn’t work out. It was when I started to embrace the mantra “Shit happens” that I finally started to relax about failures.

Because, shit happens, right?

Then I had to be careful not to let myself relax to the point I wouldn't bother to try again. Over time, I learned to give something a hard look, try to figure out what went wrong and how to try a different approach.

Sometimes, I do have to bring the hard look around to realize, the concept is not going to succeed. Try a different concept or move on.

Because, shit happens, right?

Feeling good about more than one try on a task leads to a sense of accomplishment when success happens.

It is liberating to learn making mistakes is how to determine how not to solve a problem. Learning all the wrong ways to do something, makes remembering the right way a whole lot easier.

Thinking skills engage when analyzing the cause of the mistake. Finding new ways to do the task calls on more thinking skills and often creativity. I have also found I'm more comfortable adapting to situations. Adapting becomes more like course adjustments than course changes.

Because, shit happens, right?

Think of problem solving like an adventure. Making mistakes is all part of the path to discovery and the victory of solving the problem.

In so many ways, problem solving becomes a fun journey. The destination becomes less the focus than how to get there and how many paths to travel to find the right one.

Because, shit happens, right?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://idesofmay.com/2019/04/07/failure-can-be-an-adventure/

Sort:  

I had two strong life coaches when I was forming. One had zero tolerance for mistakes and the other had zero tolerance for not giving your best effort at anything. An interesting combination.

I've learned a few things in my life. Not the least is that I am going to fail. When I make my after action report to myself I'm ok with what ever outcome if I did my best and didn't ignore the obvious.

Consequently, I have failed 4 business and many relatioships but learned something necessary every time.

Shit does happen, routinely. I just don't need to wear it for any extended amount of time.

Thanks for a great read!

Se just need to learn with your mistakes. Unfortunately isn't everybody who does

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not about the event or destination, it's about the journey @shadowspub!
Don't be impertinent!!! Hehehe!
But one thing I learned about me, is that I hate doing the same job twice...

Hi, @shadowspub!

You just got a 0.23% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

this was me when sent to look for something.
Memories.....I can feel the anxiety in myself and hear my Mom's voice just reading this.
Great writing.

Hi @shadowspub!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.089 which ranks you at #294 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi @shadowspub.

It seems to me that your mother's intention was that you should not make the mistakes that she had already made.
She wanted to prevent you from failing in something if she could tell you how to do it.
In short, she wanted her experiences to be yours.

Maybe she had all the good intentions, but she made a mistake. No one can live the life of another person and above all wanted to take away the opportunity to learn from your failures.

But let's not forget that she did everything with very good intentions.

All Best, Piotr.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 454 (04/11/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94