A Heart of Glass

in #life6 years ago

This is not a book review. This is a friend review. My friend gave me the most beautiful gift earlier this week. First, a little background on her: Her name is Lili West and she will be on Steemit soon. She's a wonder of a woman who lives in the moment yet is dependable. It's rare those two traits go together. Lili is one of my dearest friends. I've spent a fair amount of time with her lately. This is actually unusual for me. Friendships take a very long time for me to get going. I do not trust easily even though I love immediately.

But Lili has a way of bursting every dam. She is a beautiful warrior who has been a blessing in my life. I'm so deeply grateful for her. I expect nothing from her other than friendship. We both give that willingly. Because she has been expecting a baby, I've given her a few gifts lately. I love giving gifts. Lili does too, and she gave me one right back.

What struck me about this is how much love it holds as a thoughtful selection. Lili knows me and my dreams. She knows many of the pieces of Survive Your Story (@surviveyourstory launching soon, so go follow) and my dream of renovating my Story House. That is a project that I've put on pause due to other financial needs in my family, but Lili found a way to keep that dream alive for me.

Story House will be the physical home of my business, Survive Your Story. It is a building on my property I've shared about before. It needs a bathroom, heat and air conditioning, as well as walls and flooring and furniture. As projects go, it's a great one. I look forward to having more control over my classes as well as a dedicated workspace. Because of the size of Story House, I will also be able to support artists with residencies. Basically, this house will be a mother-in-law suite but for everything writing through trauma.

Again, the pause. It had to happen. There are several financial factors currently in the air for our family, medical and otherwise. I have several teaching clients right now which offer me classrooms, etc. I don't need Story House yet. But that doesn't mean I don't want it.

Back to Lili's gift. She said, "I got you something to hang in Story House." I had no idea what it could be. I was puzzling it over until I opened the package she gave me. It is a glass heart with "Survivor" etched into it's center.

Yes, this will ABSOLUTELY have a place in Story House. As will the book she gave me (which I can hardly stand to not be reading right now), Hearts of Glass by Wendy Lawless. But what ices this delicious love cake is her inscription in the book:

Shawna ~

For good luck with your memoir writing, retreat doing, healing work & ultimate success as one of the world's best authors & leaders I know. I am honored. And I love you. Thank you.

Lili West

What gifts have you given or received?

Images are my own

Sort:  

It's nice having nice friends like Lili-- and being one too. I hope your project materialize, it seems like a nice project (I'm going to follow it up)
Well, recently I haven't received or given any gift. I have to think hard about it. Maybe I should send someone a gift.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86