Another Day, Another Car Accident

in #life6 years ago

It's another day of me having my act together. Thank you, medication. Let me tell you, friends. It's been a hell of a week. Here's a little catchup blog post before I knock out some contract work.

After my migraine resolved, I was in a car accident. It was completely not my fault. I was stopped at stop sign when the young woman in front of me changed her mind about pulling into traffic. It was a good thing, too, as she would have been hit both ways. As she was in a rather strange position (i.e. on the wrong side of the road while turning left), I gave her a fair berth thinking she might not, you know, be all there. Turns out she wasn't. She gunned it backward without checking her rearview and was stopped by my front bumper before I had a chance to honk or shift into reverse.

IMG_1414.jpg

Those following for awhile will recall my middle and youngest just got over whiplash from being rear-ended by a young man we can only assume was texting. He hit them going quite fast, never touched his brakes. Both girls were in the car with me. Both girls sustained new injuries. Damn. It.

Seriously. It took me several days to let go of some serious mama bear rage. Not only were my daughters injured, but I sustained whiplash that prevents me from running. That means I'm missing the running skill work for the last two weeks of the endurance class I saved my pennies for. Thinking about it fills my rage bucket again, but not nearly as much as thinking about my passenger. She suffered a concussion and her back was thrown out of alignment. I was giving her a ride to pick up groceries and instead we spent an hour in 90 degree heat waiting as the police tried to get information from the young woman who hit us. Ultimately, she failed her sobriety test, was handcuffed and taken away.

As if that weren't enough with my 10 and 6 year olds watching, the guy whose house she was leaving came out to say he knew her but couldn't remember her name, then asked the police if he could have her car.

I'm not all about gender roles, but courtesy is the basis of chivalry. I pronounce chivalry dead.

I've spent the last few days in some very real pain. I was also glutened by a well-meaning waiter. That jacked up my internal inflammation causing my anxiety to flare. It was already flaring because I had to scale down on exercise. Nausea from pain has prevented me from eating much. I've dropped eight pounds in the last two weeks. It's a bit alarming.

On the plus side, most of that weight loss was likely water. On the down side, my muscles are looking less muscle-y. I've been working so hard for these guns!

IMG_1442.jpg
IMG_1443.jpg

Oh well. They'll be back.

For now I just need to be patient and heal. I'm still showing up to all my workouts when they don't conflict with necessary chiropractic adjustments. My coaches are happy to adapt all exercises for me according to the note from my doctor which reads, "...no movement which uses the neck as an anchor." What can I do, you ask? All the squats. All the assault bike. All the planks. My quads, booty and abs are feeling the gainz even while the rest of me seems to be shrinking.

Remember: An injury is not an excuse to stop, it's an opportunity to explore getting better in ways you hadn't considered.

Happy Steeming!

Sort:  

WHAT A DAY you've had!!!
Glad you were OK...

Definitely. Thank you so much.

Oy that's a rough week...glad you are all ok. Gotta love your level-headedness and ability to look forward while adapting & overcoming. Maaad inspiring & motivating @shawnamawna. Thank you. Also, sending healing vibes into the universe for your & your children should you be open to receiving them <333 #steemitbloggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68