Confessions of a Divorced Lesbian Barista

in #life5 years ago

It feels like years ago that I came out on Steemit. I love how caring this community was. It was and still is hard to accept myself as a queer woman after being hetero married for 20 years and birthing three amazing children. I have taken many steps since I was last here. Of them, the biggest is not the divorce that just went through (my ex and I are still good friends); it was me moving into my own place.


IMG_4050.jpg
Me outside Starbucks on my break.

57478953790__16AD8268-F1AA-464E-8219-0A54B5903069.jpg
Me on my porch enjoying coffee.

I've never been independent. Dependence was cultivated by my parents. I then married as an escape from a violent home. My partner took care of us financially while I took care of the children. My first year of college was the closest I came. That year I lived on a separate campus from my then-partner. I managed my funds and his. But we were still a pair and I never felt single.

Living on my own is terrifying. In truth, I am living with a roommate, but I am managing my own funds. I work at Starbucks during the day. Evenings I still teach online for the Center for Creative Writing. (An aside: I realize it's been so long barely anyone here likely knows who I am. Feel free to scroll through my blog.) I also edit Heart and Humanity with @raymondspeaks. And I freelance write where I can.

My greatest barrier at the moment is income. Even with the multiple jobs, I don't have much. This is okay with me. Still, one of the dreams I gave up to be married was traveling. My goals for myself as a divorced, lesbian barista are to follow those dreams. They will happen.

There is plenty more to say. This is a start. I'm sending this out into the Steemit-sphere to see who is still here. Can we reconnect?

Sort:  

I'm still here @shawnamawna and am so proud of you for taking steps to be true to yourself. <3

Congratulations @shawnamawna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 43000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96