Houston, We Have Found the Problem (Oy Vey)

in #life6 years ago

Something is loose in my wrist. It’s a torn tendon. Thus ends the question of what exactly is going on with my grip. You know, in case you've been following the saga. The tendon in question runs from my middle finger up the inside of my wrist and has a tear near the elbow. I can show you exactly where because my chiropractor stuck her finger right into it.

treatment-1327811_640.jpg
image from pixabay.com

It hurt.

A lot.

She also tested my grip strength. Though I’m a lefty, my left hand registered at 20lbs less grip strength than my right which, she said, is surprising. Ideally, my left would be stronger than my right. This explains why I keep unexpectedly dropping things and also why I can’t both retain my grip and turn my wrist.

But recovery is possible!

wine-2891894_640.jpg
image from pixabay.com

The road to recovery requires me to wear a cho-pat, which I had never heard of. I’m excited to get one and head back to the gym tomorrow. I took today off because chiropractic adjustments (of which there were many) mean I need rest and lots of water. So in go the liquids. Warm broth is a favorite. The couch is today’s best friend.

Now that I know what is going wrong in my body and how to support it so it can heal, I’m feeling more excited about gym days. It will be nice to add a few more exercises to my roster, but this will be done slowly.

I have several strength and fitness goals this year. I’d like to gain 5 lbs of muscle. I’m not sure how realistic that is.

I want to set a 200 lb back squat. I believe this is achievable with better positioning.

silhouette-1975689_640.png
image from pixabay.com

And my goal for several years has been one strict pull-up. Every time I get close to that I seem to get injured and head back the other direction. I don’t know this goal will be achievable given the status of my wrist and shoulder, but I do think I can achieve another 200 lb goal: deadlift.

If I can’t support my body weight on the bar, how will I go beyond it with a barbell? Well, there are tools for grip. I also have 12 months to recover and continue building strength. Finally, deadlift is driven by the hips and legs rather than the shoulders. With a switch grip (one hand under the bar, one hand over it), I believe I can get there slowly but safely.

And last, I’d like to be doing at least 100 lbs with my overhead squat. I think my last max was 80. My legs are much stronger since so this really is all about shoulder/arm/wrist stability. I mean, I have been doing 2/3 leg work for almost 6 months due to broken fingers and injured wrist. My quads are killer. 😉

Oh yeah. And to run a mile without walking. This is asthma dependent so I make this goal loosely.

What are your fitness goals for 2018?

APP.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Finish my first race..Nothing compares to the glory you’ll feel at the finish line of your first 5K, 10K, half-marathon, marathon or triathlon..

That's a fantastic goal! I look forward to reading about it when you complete it. :)

chiropractic is great and natural remedy. anything natural is excellent for the body. For me, I plan to walk more and stand up more while steeming so i heal the back ache that i have and i know its due to sitting disease!
Thanks for sharing this, upped and following for more. My goal is to have good body and skin through nature. Starting a banana peel remedy. posted on it also today. regards

I'll be over to learn about that banana peel remedy! I think moving more while working is a great choice. I am about to get up and move around myself!

Sure and please while reading up about my waste to health series using banana peel this time, remember not to forget a banana peel 🍌 on your floor! Could be useful and slippery as well! Wish you best of health. Did you read my post on organic eggshell I published few months back? Could help a lot!

I'm so glad they've found what the problem is!

My own fitness goals are to get in some cardio three times a week. I got a Fitbit Charge 2 for Christmas and it really helps me get a solid idea of how much cardio I'm getting :).

I got a FitBit for my birthday in 2016. It really did help a lot, especially with figuring out some sleep issues. I was able to move from 3-4 days at the gym knowing there were places I was wasting energy and others I wasn't even spending it. It kind of hacks fitness.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shawnamawna to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Glad you finally know exactly what the problem is.

2018 fitness goals? I'll start with fitting into the cutest little black n white dress a friend gifted me. It fits now, sure, but it's a bit, um.. snug, in places where it shouldn't be.

Gotta love those dress goals. I acheived one of those last year. It was really exciting.

Fitness goals: better posture (is that a fitness goal?) lose 15 pounds. Figure out kundalini yoga. Glad they found out what was wrong!

Posture is totally a fitness goal! And I am glad too. Going to get my cho-pat a little later. :)

wow.. Nice piece... Those fitness goals shud be achieved

Thank you! I think they will be. I'm excited to chip away at them. I have all year!

To finally get that summer body . That is my fitness goal :)

Summer bodies belong in the sun. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84