How a Haircut Changed My Life

in #life6 years ago

I have been seeing the same stylist since three months after my first child was born. That first haircut was also my first solo trip out of my house. I remember stopping at Kohl’s to buy makeup and non-maternity clothes, then having my haircut while worrying that the stylist would smell my period. It was my first since giving birth and it was distinctly...different.

She (Jackie Simmons) was excited that a haircut was my first jaunt out of the house. We talked about how I was reclaiming my body in a time I felt very lost and out of myself. My hair felt like it didn’t belong to me. My body was dramatically different than anything I was taught to expect. Instead of tightening back up, my belly deflated and the skin hung down in loose wrinkles. I was in shock, exhausted and I didn’t feel the least bit pretty.

imageLatest cut. Forgive the squint. It’s sunny outside!

But Jackie is magical. I walked away from that appointment feeling great. That cut was the beginning of me creating an alliance with my body. And I knew I struck gold. I have felt great every appointment since. That’s why, twelve years down the road, I am still in her books.

A great stylist for curly hair is hard to find. One who is willing to take risks with curly hair is even rarer. I have grown my hair down my back and chopped it off three times with Jackie. I completely trust her with my head, which is why I let her buzz my hair one summer after playing with different pixie styles for awhile. We have done bobs, asymmetry, and yesterday, a mohawk.

I’ve had a similar cut before, but not as close on the sides. We’d been varying a curly pixie for a few months, and Jackie was feeling the drain of the repetitive. She’s incredibly talented and creative. So when I had her look up Naomi from The Expanse, she literally bounced up and down in excitement. And when she finished the cut, she led me outside so she could take pictures. You can see one here. I’m always ecstatic when my hair makes her feed.

I truly appreciate Jackie’s perpetual positivity, thoughtfulness, artistry and skill. 12 years of great hairstyles that have encouraged me to feel comfortable in myself. That is an amazing find.

Give a shout out to someone who has made a lasting impact in your life.

Sort:  

A good haircut is amazing! I don't normally go to a stylist, it wasn't in the budget for most of my life, but it is amazing when you find the cut that "fits" I think you look amazing and strong :)

You are looking so cool @shawnamawna. Vibrant!

having a haircut or change in style can give one such a boost and make one feel so different, like a new lease on life!

Yay, celebrating yourself and your awesome stylist! I'm glad you have such a great relationship with your stylist, and that it has inspired you to try new styles. And your hawk looks great!

Lovely. Nothing better than a lovely hairdo to make you feel great!

You're so gorgeous and your hair is inspiring to me even tho mine would take soooooo much to look half as beautiful!!! I've never been that close with a stylist it hasn't always been great.

That is an awesome style, and that photo on her Instagram is really good, too! Fabulous look, lady! You really do justice to this style! 😊

Very cool haircut, I've been trying to get a good short hair cut but kinda hard to find a satisfying one yet.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

I like the new do!

I often neglect to cut my hair and shave. I usually give myself a buzz a few times a year.

With summer coming up here, I am close to the point of needing some attention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43